Canada and the First World War

Children - Ages 4 to 8: Fiction Picture Books



A Brave Soldier

Nicolas Debon
Toronto, ON: Groundwood, 2002

Description: This book tells the story of a young soldier named Frank and his journey from Canada to the trenches in northern France. Frank enlists in 1914 only because he does not want to be seen as a coward. He suffers a serious injury in the trenches, but returns to the front and continues to fight until the end of the war.

Available in French under the title Un brave soldat


Silver Threads

Marsha Forchuk Skrypuch, Illustrated by Michael Martchenko
Markham, ON: Fitzhenry & Whiteside, 2004

Description: A young couple, Anna and Ivan, immigrate to Canada from the Ukraine shortly before the First World War. When the war starts, Ivan tries to enlist in the army to fight for his new country, but instead is interned as an 'enemy alien'. Anna, now alone, works hard to survive on their land while waiting for Ivan's return. She never gives up hope, and takes care of the spider that lives in their cottage, which she believes is a good omen.

The book includes a historical note at the back. It explains the Canadian government's initial encouragement of Ukrainian immigration, and its later internment of these 'enemy aliens' during the First World War.

Le Canada et la Première Guerre mondiale

Enfants - 4 à 8 ans : Fiction avec images



Un brave soldat

Nicolas Debon
Montréal (Qué.), Les 400 coups, 2005

Description:Ce livre raconte l'histoire d'un jeune soldat appelé Frank et de son voyage du Canada aux tranchées du nord de la France. Frank s'enrôle en 1914 uniquement parce qu'il ne veut pas être considéré comme un lâche. Il est blessé grièvement dans les tranchées, mais il retourne au front et continue de se battre jusqu'à la fin de la guerre

Disponible en anglais sous le titre A brave soldier.


Silver Threads

Marsha Forchuk Skrypuch, illustré par Michael Martchenko
Markham (Ont.), Fitzhenry & Whiteside, 2004

Description:Un jeune couple, Anna et Ivan, immigre d'Ukraine au Canada peu avant la Première Guerre mondiale. Quand la guerre débute, Ivan tente de s'enrôler dans l'armée afin de se battre pour son nouveau pays, mais il est plutôt interné comme « sujet d'un pays ennemi ». Maintenant seule, Anna travaille dur pour survivre sur leur terre en attendant le retour d'Ivan. Elle ne désespère jamais et prend soin de l'araignée qui vit dans leur maison, dont elle considère la présence comme un bon présage.

Le livre comporte une note historique au plat verso. Elle explique que le gouvernement canadien a initialement encouragé l'immigration ukrainienne et qu'il a plus tard interné ces « sujets d'un pays ennemi » pendant la Première Guerre mondiale.