Canada and the First World War

A.G.L McNaughton

Andrew McNaughton was a civil engineer and an artillery specialist who rose from command of a single battery in 1914 to lead the Canadian Corps' heavy artillery in late 1918.

A Scientific Gunner

McNaughton, a pre-war militia officer, commanded a battery of guns in September 1914 and was wounded at Ypres the following April. A gifted engineer who had taught at McGill University in Montreal, McNaughton had a keen mind for science and an easy style with people that earned him respect, success, and promotion.

After commanding several batteries, McNaughton was given the important position of Counter-Battery Staff Officer in February 1917. He developed or perfected new scientific gunnery principles, including "spot-flashing" and "sound-ranging," to improve the Canadians' ability to identify, target, and neutralize enemy gun positions. Working in conjunction with heavier bombardments, curtains of indirect machine-gun fire, smoke shells, aircraft, and the creeping barrage, counter-battery fire now became increasingly effective in suppressing enemy guns. These techniques permitted Allied troops to close on their objectives with fewer casualties, especially as they crossed No Man's Land, and made it difficult for enemy forces to move up in support of threatened areas. McNaughton was decorated several times during the war for his achievements. By late 1918, as a 31-year-old acting brigadier, he commanded the entire heavy artillery and counter-battery forces of the Canadian Corps.

Post-War Accomplishments

McNaughton had a long and illustrious postwar career. He was Chief of the General Staff from 1929 to 1935 and president of the National Research Council from 1935 to 1939. During the Second World War, he commanded successively an infantry division, a corps, and First Canadian Army. He resigned the latter command in December 1943 when criticism by British generals had helped undermine his political support. McNaughton held the defence portfolio in 1944-1945 in the government of W.L.M. King, and for two decades thereafter was a leading Canadian diplomat and public figure. He died in 1966.

Keep exploring with these topics: Artillery and Mortars, Solving the Trench Stalemate, and Vimy Ridge

Le Canada et la Première Guerre mondiale

A.G.L McNaughton

Ingénieur civil et spécialiste de l'artillerie, Andrew McNaughton, au départ commandant d'une unique batterie, en 1914, fut promu jusqu'à devenir chef de l'artillerie lourde du Corps canadien à la fin de 1918.

Un artilleur scientifique

McNaughton, officier de la milice avant-guerre, commandait une batterie de canons en septembre 1914 et fut blessé à Ypres en avril suivant. Ingénieur doué qui avait enseigné à l'Université McfGill, à Montréal, McNaughton était un passionné des sciences et il entretenait des relations cordiales avec les gens, ce qui lui valut respect, réussite et promotions.

Après avoir commandé plusieurs batteries, McNaughton se vit confier le poste important d'officier d'état-major de contrebatterie en février 1917. Il élabora ou perfectionna de nouveaux principes d'artillerie scientifiques, dont le repérage par éclats et le repérage par le son, pour améliorer la capacité des Canadiens d'identifier, cibler et neutraliser les positions d'artillerie ennemies. Associé à des bombardements intenses, des rideaux de tirs de mitrailleuse indirects, des obus fumigènes, des avions et des barrages roulants, les tirs de contrebatterie devinrent maintenant de plus en plus efficaces pour supprimer les canons ennemis. Ces techniques permirent aux troupes alliées de se rapprocher de leurs objectifs en subissant moins de pertes, particulièrement quand elles franchissaient le no man's land, et rendaient difficile pour les forces ennemies d'avancer pour appuyer des secteurs menacés. McNaughton fut décoré plusieurs fois pendant la guerre pour ses réalisations. À la fin de 1918, brigadier par intérim de 31 ans, il commanda l'ensemble des forces d'artillerie lourde et de contrebatterie du Corps canadien.

Réalisations après-guerre

McNaughton connut une carrière après-guerre longue et illustre. Il fut chef d'état-major général de 1929 à 1935 et président du Conseil national de recherches de 1935 à 1939. Pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, il commanda successivement une division d'infanterie, un corps et la Première Armée canadienne. Il abandonna ce dernier commandement en décembre 1943 quand des critiques de la part de généraux britanniques contribuèrent à amoindrir ses soutiens politiques. McNaughton détint le portefeuille de la défense en 1944-1945 dans le gouvernement de W.L.M. King, et au cours des deux décennies suivantes il fut un éminent diplomate canadien et un personnage public. Il est décédé en 1966.

Poursuivez votre exploration avec les sujets suivants : Artillerie et mortiers, Résoudre l'impasse des tranchées et Crête de Vimy