Canada and the First World War

Communication

Communication between the rear areas and front line units, as well as laterally along the front line, was always difficult, and often led to failures in battle.

Vulnerable Communication on the Ground

On the ground, signalers used a variety of devices and methods to send messages. Telephones were reliable, but their long, strung-out wires were vulnerable to shellfire and frequently cut. Burying the lines deep into the ground was labour intensive and time consuming, and still did not always protect against shellfire. Pigeons were surprisingly effective in carrying messages, but required special handlers and could become disoriented by the noise of artillery barrages.

Bulky and Fragile Radios

Wireless telegraphy (radio) could transmit Morse code in 1914, but the wireless sets were bulky and fragile, with relatively short ranges. Later, more robust wireless sets were used by observers to direct artillery fire.

Limited Communication with Aircraft

Aircraft flew "contact patrols" to observe the forward movement of troops. They were only fitted with transmitting wireless sets, as receivers added too much weight to the airframe. Aircraft could also drop messages near a headquarters or friendly position. Troops on the ground used various methods, such as signal lamps, panels, and flares, to send messages to aircraft.

Unresolved Problems

Despite these tools, communication often broke down between the attacking infantry and their headquarters in the rear. When this happened, commanders did not know the location of their troops and were unable to support them with accurate artillery fire, ammunition, or supplies. This failure in communication was never fully solved during the war.

Keep exploring with these topics: Mascots and Pets, Command of the Air, and Fliers

Le Canada et la Première Guerre mondiale

Les communications

Les communications entre l'arrière et les unités sur la ligne de front, ainsi que latéralement le long de cette ligne, furent toujours difficiles et furent souvent la cause d'échecs au cours des batailles.

Vulnérabilité des communications au sol

Au sol, les signaleurs utilisaient divers appareils et méthodes pour envoyer des messages. Les téléphones étaient fiables, mais leurs longs fils suspendus étaient vulnérables aux tirs des obus et étaient fréquemment coupés. Enterrer les fils profondément dans le sol était un travail exténuant et long et ne les protégeait pas toujours des tirs d'obus. Les pigeons étaient étonnamment efficaces pour transporter des messages, mais exigeaient des personnes spécialement formées à leur manipulation, et ils pouvaient être désorientés par le bruit et les barrages d'artillerie.

Radios volumineuses et fragiles

En 1914, la radiotélégraphie (radio) pouvait transmettre des messages en Morse, mais les émetteurs-récepteurs sans fil étaient volumineux et fragiles et leur portée n'était pas très grande. Plus tard, des postes sans fil plus robustes furent utilisés par des guetteurs pour orienter le tir de l'artillerie.

Communications limitées avec les avions

Les avions effectuaient des « patrouilles de contact » pour observer l'avancée des troupes. Ils n'étaient équipés que de postes émetteurs, car les postes récepteurs ajoutaient trop de poids à la cellule de l'avion. Les avions pouvaient également larguer des messages près des quartiers généraux d'une position amie. Les troupes au sol utilisaient diverses méthodes pour envoyer des messages aux avions, par exemple des lampes de signalisation et des fusées éclairantes.

Problèmes non résolus

Malgré tous ces moyens, les communications étaient souvent rompues entre l'infanterie attaquante et ses quartiers généraux à l'arrière. Lorsque cela se produisait, les commandants ne savaient pas où se trouvaient leurs troupes et étaient incapables de leur fournir un appui adéquat avec des tirs d'artillerie, des munitions ou du ravitaillement. Aucune solution ne fut trouvée à ces problèmes de communication au cours de la guerre.

Poursuivez votre exploration avec les sujets suivants : Animaux familiers et mascottes, Maîtriser l'espace aérien, et Les aviateurs