Canada and the First World War

Conscription, 1917

The federal government decided in 1917 to conscript young men for overseas military service. Voluntary recruitment was failing to maintain troop numbers, and Prime Minister Sir Robert Borden believed in the military value, and potential post-war influence, of a strong Canadian contribution to the war.

A Momentous Debate

The 1917 conscription debate was one of the fiercest and most divisive in Canadian political history. French-Canadians, as well as many farmers, unionized workers, non-British immigrants, and other Canadians, generally opposed the measure. English-speaking Canadians, led by Prime Minister Borden and senior members of his Cabinet, as well as British immigrants, the families of soldiers, and older Canadians, generally supported it.

The conscription debate echoed public divisions on many other contemporary issues, including language education, agriculture, religion, and the political rights of women and immigrants. It also grew into a test of one's support for, or opposition to, the war as a whole. Charges of disloyalty, cowardice, and immorality from avid pro-conscription advocates were matched by cries of imperialism, stupidity, and bloodlust by the anti-conscription camp.

The campaign's viciousness sometimes obscured the debate's complexity. Many anti-conscription advocates fully supported the war, for example, while not all pro-conscription voices argued their case by using linguistic or racial smears to diminish their opponents.

Conscription Prevails

The conscription debate raged through most of 1917 and into 1918. The required legislation, the Military Service Act, worked its way through Parliament during the summer to be passed in late August. It made all male citizens between the ages of 20 and 45 subject to military service, if called, for the duration of the war.

Conscription was the main issue in the federal election that followed in December, a bitter contest between Conservative / Unionist Sir Robert Borden and Liberal Sir Wilfrid Laurier. Borden, running on a 'Unionist' pro-conscription ticket that attracted many English-speaking Liberals, won decisively, but lost heavily in Francophone areas of Quebec.

Wartime Elections Act Changes Who Can Vote

The government had helped pave the way for electoral victory with legislation in the fall that enfranchised likely allies and disenfranchised likely opponents.

The Wartime Elections Act gave the vote to the wives, mothers, and sisters of soldiers, the first women permitted to vote in Canadian federal elections. These groups tended to favour conscription because it supported their men in the field.

The Act then denied the vote to many recent immigrants from enemy countries ("enemy aliens"), unless they had a family member in military service. At the same time, the Military Voters Act extended the vote to all military personnel and nurses, including women, regardless of their period of residence in Canada.

Borden's margin of victory in December was greater than the votes delivered by either of these controversial measures, but each had been highly successful. More than 90 per cent of military votes, for example, were Unionist.

Conscription's Results

A broadly popular but divisive measure, conscription polarized provinces, ethnic and linguistic groups, communities, and families, and had lasting political effects on the country as a whole. For many Canadians, it was an important and necessary contribution to a faltering war effort; for others, it was an oppressive act passed dishonestly by a government more British than Canadian.

Farmers sought agricultural exemptions from compulsory service until the end of the war. Borden's government, anxious for farmers' votes, agreed to limited exemptions, largely for farmers' labouring sons, but broke the promise after the election. The bitterness among farmers, many of them in the West, led to the development of new federal and provincial parties.

French-speaking Canadians continued their protests as well, and young men by the tens of thousands joined others from across Canada in refusing to register for the selection process. Of those that did register, 93% applied for an exemption. An effort to arrest suspected draft dodgers was highly unpopular across the province and, at its worst, resulted in several days of rioting and street battles in Quebec City at Easter, 1918. The violence left four civilians dead and dozens injured, and shocked supporters on both sides.

Conscription would have minimal impact on Canada's war effort. By the Armistice in November 1918, only 48,000 conscripts had been sent overseas, half of which ultimately served at the front. More than 50,000 more conscripts remained in Canada. These would have been required had the war continued into 1919.

Keep exploring with these topics: Sir Robert Borden, Henri Bourassa, and Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Le Canada et la Première Guerre mondiale

Conscription, 1917

Le gouvernement fédéral décida en 1917 de conscrire les jeunes hommes pour le service militaire outre-mer. Le recrutement volontaire ne réussissait pas à maintenir le nombre des soldats, et le Premier ministre, sir Robert Borden, croyait dans à la valeur militaire et à l'influence potentielle après-guerre d'une forte contribution canadienne au conflit.

Un débat très important

Le débat sur la conscription en 1917 fut l'un des plus violents de l'histoire politique du Canada, et l'un de ceux qui furent le plus source de divisions. Les Canadiens français, ainsi que nombre d'agriculteurs, de syndiqués, d'immigrants non britanniques et d'autres Canadiens, s'opposaient généralement à cette mesure. Les Canadiens anglophones, avec à leur tête le Premier ministre Borden et les principaux membres de son Cabinet ainsi que les immigrants britanniques, les familles de soldats et les Canadiens plus âgés, étaient généralement en faveur.

Le débat sur la conscription se fit l'écho de divisions publiques sur beaucoup d'autres sujets contemporains, dont la langue d'enseignement, l'agriculture, la religion et les droits politiques des femmes et des immigrants. Il devint également un test de l'appui, ou de l'opposition, à la guerre en général. Aux accusations de déloyauté, de lâcheté et d'immoralité des partisans acharnés de la conscription, on répondait en leur reprochant d'être impérialistes, stupides et sanguinaires.

La violence de la campagne masqua parfois la complexité du débat. Beaucoup d'adversaires de la conscription soutenaient pleinement la guerre, par exemple, tandis que les partisans de la conscription ne défendaient pas tous leur cause en faisant usage de diffamation linguistique ou raciale pour rabaisser leurs adversaires.

La conscription l'emporte

Le débat sur la conscription fit rage pendant la plus grande partie de 1917, et jusqu'en 1918. La loi nécessaire, la Loi du Service Militaire, fut débattue au Parlement pendant l'été et fut adoptée à la fin d'août. Elle prévoyait que tous les citoyens de sexe masculin de 20 à 45 ans seraient tenus de faire leur service militaire, s'ils étaient appelés, jusqu'à la fin de la guerre.

La conscription fut le thème principal des élections fédérales qui suivirent en décembre, combat virulent entre le conservateur-unioniste sir Robert Borden et le libéral sir Wilfrid Laurier. Borden, à la tête d'une liste proconscription « unioniste » qui avait attiré bon nombre de libéraux anglophones, gagna de façon décisive, mais perdit nettement dans les secteurs francophones du Québec.

La Loi des élections en temps de guerre modifie le droit de vote

Le gouvernement avait contribué à sa future victoire électorale par une loi adoptée à l'automne qui accordait le droit de vote à des alliés probables et l'enlevait à des adversaires probables.

La Loi des élections en temps de guerre donnait le droit de vote aux épouses, mères et sœurs de soldats. Ce sont les premières femmes qui eurent le droit de voter lors d'élections fédérales au Canada. Ces femmes tendaient à favoriser la conscription parce qu'elles soutenaient leurs hommes au combat.

La Loi refusait en outre le droit de vote à de nombreux immigrants récents originaires de pays ennemis, sauf si un membre de leur famille était dans les forces armées. En même temps, la Loi des électeurs militaires accordait le droit de vote à tout le personnel militaire ainsi qu'aux infirmières, quelle que fût la durée de leur période de résidence au Canada.

La majorité de Borden en décembre fut supérieure aux votes obtenus grâce à ces mesures controversées, mais chacune avait amplement atteint son objectif. Plus de 90 pour cent des votes militaires, par exemple, allèrent aux unionistes.

Résultats de la conscription

La conscription, mesure plutôt populaire mais source de division, polarisa les provinces, les groupes ethniques et linguistiques, les communautés et les familles, et eut des effets politiques durables sur le pays dans son ensemble. Pour beaucoup de Canadiens, ce fut une contribution importante et nécessaire à un effort de guerre chancelant; pour d'autres, ce fut une loi opprimante adoptée de façon malhonnête par un gouvernement plus britannique que canadien.

Des agriculteurs demandèrent jusqu'à la fin de la guerre à être exemptés du service militaire en raison de leur travail. Le gouvernement Borden, qui tenait aux voix des agriculteurs, accepta des exemptions limitées, en grande partie pour les fils des agriculteurs qui travaillaient, mais rompit sa promesse après les élections. L'amertume des agriculteurs, dont beaucoup étaient dans l'Ouest, conduisit à la naissance de nouveaux partis fédéraux et provinciaux.

Les Canadiens de langue française continuèrent à protester eux aussi, et des dizaines de milliers de jeunes hommes se joignirent à d'autres à travers le Canada pour refuser de s'inscrire au processus de sélection. Parmi ceux qui le firent, 93 pour cent demandèrent une exemption. Une tentative d'arrêter les conscrits réfractaires fut extrêmement impopulaire dans toute la province, allant jusqu'à provoquer des émeutes et des combats de rue à Québec qui durèrent plusieurs jours à Pâques 1918. La violence fit quatre morts et des dizaines de blessés chez les civils et choqua les partisans des deux camps.

La conscription n'eut qu'une incidence minimale sur l'effort de guerre du Canada. Au moment de l'Armistice, en novembre 1918, seuls 48 000 conscrits avaient été envoyés outre-mer, dont la moitié servirent au front. Plus de 50 000 autres conscrits demeurèrent au Canada. On aurait eu besoin d'eux si le conflit s'était poursuivi en 1919.

Poursuivez votre exploration avec ces sujets : Sir Robert Borden, Henri Bourassa et Sir Wilfrid Laurier