Canada and the First World War

Courcelette

The Battle of the Somme raged for over four months and resulted in over a million casualties to Allied and German troops. The Canadians, originally in the Ypres sector, missed the first months of the fighting, but had moved to the Somme by early September.

Important Tactical Innovations

In the fighting to come, the Canadians would benefit from two tactical innovations: a creeping artillery barrage, and the first employment of tanks in combat.

Instead of trying to annihilate the enemy, the new creeping barrage resulted in thousands of shells slowly raking through the enemy lines, advancing 100 yards, or 91 metres, per lift. This barrage was not meant to destroy the enemy trench systems, although this sometimes happened, but to drive defenders into their protective dugouts. The infantry would closely follow the barrage, called 'leaning on the barrage', in order to cross No Man's Land before enemy troops could emerge from cover to fire at them.

To assist with cutting barbed wire and silencing enemy machine-guns, seven tanks, or armoured land cruisers, accompanied the Canadians in their first major battle at Courcelette on 15 September. Mechanically unreliable and as slow as a walking person, tanks nonetheless struck fear into the enemy, many of whom surrendered when the tanks first appeared.

Partial Victory

With the new artillery barrage, tanks, and a carefully prepared infantry attack, the Canadians captured the ruined village of Courcelette on 15 September. Despite thousands of casualties, it was a victory, one of the few for Allied forces on the Somme.

Further attacks through September and October were just as costly, but less successful. Operations against Desire Trench and Regina Trench, to the north of Courcelette, were grinding affairs where soldiers attacked and counterattacked repeatedly over the same ground, and always under heavy enemy fire.

In late October, the three battered divisions of the Canadian Corps limped off the Somme having suffered 20,000 casualties. The 4th Canadian Division, fighting with British troops, finally captured Regina Trench in November, as the offensive came to a halt in the mud all along the Somme front.

Lesson Learned: Combined Arms and Improved Tactics

The Somme battles cost the Canadian Corps 24,029 casualties. From the terrible bloodletting, the Canadians learned the need to improve infantry and artillery tactics, and to better coordinate how the various military arms worked together in battle. Communication would remain a problem throughout the war, but the Somme proved that if control was impossible from divisional, brigade, or even battalion headquarters, then soldiers at the front had to be empowered to fight their own battles. Training following the Somme would focus on these hard-won lessons.

Keep exploring with these topics: Songs, Finance and War Production, and Tanks and Armoured Vehicles

Le Canada et la Première Guerre mondiale

Courcelette

La bataille de la Somme fit rage durant plus de quatre mois et fit plus d'un million de pertes chez les Alliés et les Allemands. Les Canadiens, qui se trouvaient à l'origine dans le secteur d'Ypres, ratèrent les premiers mois de combat, mais ils arrivèrent dans la Somme début septembre.

Importantes innovations tactiques

Dans les combats à venir, les Canadiens bénéficieraient de deux innovations tactiques : un barrage d'artillerie roulant, et le premier emploi de chars au combat.

Au lieu de tenter d'anéantir l'ennemi, le nouveau barrage roulant faisait en sorte que des milliers d'obus ratissent lentement les lignes ennemies, progressant de 100 verges, ou 91 mètres, par salve de tirs. Ce barrage n'avait pas pour but de détruire le réseau de tranchées de l'ennemi, encore que cela se produisait parfois, mais de faire rentrer les défenseurs dans leurs abris. L'infanterie suivait de près le barrage - et l'on disait alors « s'appuyer sur le barrage » - afin de franchir le no man's land avant que les troupes ennemies ne sortent de leurs abris pour tirer.

Pour couper les fils de fer barbelé et faire taire les mitrailleuses ennemies, sept chars blindés accompagnèrent les Canadiens dans leur première grande bataille le 15 septembre à Courcelette. Peu fiables sur le plan mécanique et aussi lents qu'une personne qui marche, ces chars n'en effrayèrent pas moins l'ennemi, et beaucoup se rendirent quand les chars apparurent.

Victoire partielle

Avec le nouveau barrage d'artillerie, les chars et une attaque d'infanterie préparée avec soin, les Canadiens s'emparèrent du village en ruine de Courcelette le 15 septembre. En dépit de milliers de pertes, ce fut une victoire, une des rares pour les forces alliées de la Somme.

D'autres attaques en septembre et en octobre furent tout aussi meurtrières, mais moins fructueuses. Des opérations contre les tranchées Desire et Regina, au nord de Courcelette, furent pénibles, et les soldats attaquèrent et contre-attaquèrent de façon répétée sur le même terrain, et toujours sous un feu ennemi nourri.

À la fin d'octobre, les trois divisions meurtries du Corps canadien quittèrent clopin-clopant la Somme. Elles avaient subi 20 000 pertes. La 4e division canadienne, qui combattait avec des troupes britanniques, s'empara finalement de la tranchée Regina en novembre, quand l'offensive prit fin dans la boue tout au long du front de la Somme.

Leçon tirée : armes combinées et tactiques améliorées

Les batailles de la Somme coûtèrent 24 029 pertes au Corps canadien. Ce terrible massacre apprit aux Canadiens qu'il leur fallait améliorer les tactiques d'infanterie et d'artillerie, et mieux coordonner la manière dont les diverses armes militaires collaboraient au combat. La communication demeurerait un problème tout au long de la guerre, mais la Somme a démontré que s'il était impossible d'exercer un contrôle depuis les quartiers généraux de division, de brigade, voire de bataillon, les soldats au front devaient être habilités à mener leurs propres batailles. L'entraînement après la bataille de la Somme se concentrerait sur ces leçons durement acquises.

Poursuivez votre exploration avec ces sujets : Chants, Finances et production de guerre, et Chars et véhicules blindés