Canada and the First World War

The Canadian Expeditionary Force

The Canadian Expeditionary Force (CEF) was the entire overseas force fielded by Canada during the First World War. Of the 630,000 Canadians who enlisted for military service, 424,000 went overseas as part of the CEF.

The Canadian Corps that fought on the Western Front was the CEF's largest formation and its principal combat element, but not its only one. Other units in the CEF served outside the Corps, including the Canadian Cavalry Brigade, forestry and railway units, and various medical hospitals.

Forming the Corps

Canada's first fighting division in Europe, comprised mainly of troops from the First Contingent who had sailed in fall 1914, served as an individual division under British command.

The growing size and complexity of Canadian forces overseas led in September 1915 to the creation of the Canadian Corps, an operational and administrative grouping of most Canadian fighting units and their supporting services.

At first commanded by British Lieutenant-General Sir E.A.H. Alderson and, from May 1916 to June 1917, by British Lieutenant-General Sir Julian Byng, the Corps grew from an initial establishment of two divisions with approximately 35,000 troops to a powerful striking force of four divisions with 100,000 troops by early 1917.

A Canadian Commander

From June 1917, the Canadians were led by Lieutenant-General Sir Arthur Currie, a Canadian militia officer who rose during the war from command of a brigade to command of the entire Corps. Currie, who remained in command until 1919, is widely considered one of the war's most capable generals.

The Corps' Effectiveness

The Canadian Corps was a unique national formation that fought together for most of the war. While British corps usually consisted of an administrative or command structure through which divisions often cycled, and could be larger or smaller, depending on operational requirements, the divisions of the Canadian Corps almost always fought together.

The soldiers of the four divisions and their supporting troops learned to work together and could pool resources to improve combat effectiveness. This cohesion and stability, jealously guarded by most senior Canadian military and political figures, bred a sense of identity and pride in national accomplishment among both soldiers and civilians.

Keep exploring with these topics: Sir Arthur Currie, Vimy Ridge, and Canadians Head Overseas

Le Canada et la Première Guerre mondiale

Le Corps expéditionnaire canadien

Le Corps expéditionnaire canadien (CEC) constituait l'armée envoyée servir outre-mer par le Canada pendant la Première Guerre mondiale. Des 630 000 Canadiens qui s'enrôlèrent dans l'armée, 424 000 furent envoyés outre-mer avec le CEC.

Le Corps canadien qui combattit sur le Front occidental était la plus importante formation du CEC et son principal, mais non son seul, élément de combat. D'autres unités du CEC servirent, à part le Corps, notamment la Brigade de cavalerie canadienne, des unités forestières et ferroviaires ainsi que divers hôpitaux.

Mise sur pied du Corps

La première division canadienne qui combattit en Europe comportait principalement des troupes du premier contingent qui avait pris la mer à l'automne 1914 en tant que division particulière sous commandement britannique.

Les forces canadiennes outre-mer devenant de plus en plus nombreuses et complexes, cela amena la création en septembre 1915 du Corps canadien, ensemble opérationnel et administratif regroupant la plupart des unités de combat canadiennes et leurs services de soutien.

D'abord commandé par le lieutenant-général britannique sir E.A.H. Alderson et, de mai 1916 à juin 1917, par le lieutenant-général britannique sir Julian Byng, le Corps passa de deux divisions comportant 35 000 hommes au départ à une force de frappe puissante composée de quatre divisions comptant 100 000 hommes au début de 1917.

Un commandant canadien

À partir de juin 1917 les Canadiens furent commandés par le lieutenant-général sir Arthur Currie, officier de milice canadien qui, pendant la guerre, passa de commandant de brigade à commendant de l'ensemble du Corps. Currie, qui conserva son commandement jusqu'en 1919, est considéré par beaucoup comme un des généraux les plus compétents de la guerre.

Efficacité du Corps

Le Corps canadien était une formation nationale unique dont les divisions combattirent ensemble pendant la plus grande partie de la guerre. Alors que les corps britanniques étaient normalement constitués d'une structure administrative ou de commandement au sein de laquelle les divisions changeaient souvent et pouvaient être plus ou moins grandes, selon les nécessités opérationnelles, les divisions du Corps canadien combattirent presque toujours ensemble.

Les soldats des quatre divisions et leur troupe apprirent à travailler ensemble et à mettre en commun les ressources pour améliorer l'efficacité au combat. Cette cohésion et cette stabilité, jalousement préservées par les officiers canadiens les plus haut gradés et les hommes politiques, favorisèrent un sentiment d'identité avec un objectif national, et de fierté à son égard tant chez les soldats que chez les civils.

Poursuivez votre exploration avec ces sujets : Sir Arthur Currie, Crête de Vimy et Les Canadiens se dirigent outre-mer