Canada and the First World War

Faith and Fatalism

Religious faith helped many soldiers cope with the horrors of war. Others relied on a sometimes morbid fatalism, resigning their chances for survival to luck, superstition, or inevitability.

Chaplains for the Religious

Religion played a key role in the lives of most soldiers. Military chaplains of several denominations provided spiritual comfort and solace. Of the 440 who served overseas, 357 were Protestant and 83 Roman Catholic.

Chaplains gave lectures and sermons to large groups on religious parade, but they also engaged in personal conversations with soldiers, organized sporting events, and sometimes wrote letters on behalf of illiterate men. Many chaplains understood the great sensitivity required in their role, giving solace or guidance where requested, and refraining from unwanted harangues about the evils of drink or tobacco. Soldiers viewed chaplains who served close to the firing line with respect and admiration, but were less sympathetic to those who stayed far to the rear.

Faith in Chance

Other soldiers found faith only in the randomness of events, having seen so little relationship between spiritual devotion and physical survival. Hardened soldiers who had witnessed countless friends and comrades killed often harboured a deep sense of resignation that nothing could deter death. In the soldiers' popular phrase, it would simply come when "their number was up."

Keep exploring with these topics: Soldiers' Slang, Conscientious Objectors, and Memorials in Canada

Le Canada et la Première Guerre mondiale

Foi et fatalisme

La foi religieuse aidait bon nombre de soldats à faire face aux horreurs de la guerre. D'autres faisaient preuve d'un fatalisme parfois morbide, s'en remettant à la chance, à la superstition ou à l'inéluctabilité des choses pour survivre.

Aumôniers pour les soldats croyants

La religion jouait un rôle essentiel dans la vie de la plupart des soldats. Des aumôniers militaires de plusieurs confessions leur offraient un réconfort et une consolation spirituels. Des 440 aumôniers qui servirent outre-mer, 357 étaient protestants et 83 catholiques.

Les aumôniers faisaient des exposés ou prononçaient des sermons devant de grands groupes de soldats au cours de rassemblements religieux, mais ils avaient également des conversations privées avec les soldats, organisaient des manifestations sportives et parfois écrivaient des lettres pour ceux qui étaient analphabètes. Beaucoup d'aumôniers étaient conscients de devoir faire preuve d'une grande sensibilité dans leur rôle, apportant une consolation ou donnant un conseil lorsqu'on le leur demandait et s'abstenant de sermons importuns sur les méfaits de l'alcool ou du tabac. Les soldats avaient du respect et de l'admiration pour les aumôniers qui servaient près de la ligne de feu, mais beaucoup moins pour ceux qui restaient à l'arrière.

Croire en la chance

D'autres soldats ne plaçaient leur foi que dans le caractère aléatoire des événements, ayant constaté trop peu de liens entre dévotion et survie. Des soldats endurcis qui avaient vu mourir nombre de leurs amis et camarades étaient souvent persuadés, avec un profond sentiment de résignation, que rien ne pouvait éloigner la mort. Les soldats avaient coutume de dire qu'ils mourraient lorsque leur heure serait venue.