Canada and the First World War

Festubert

At the May 1915 Battle of Festubert, Canadian troops gained little ground and suffered terrible casualties.

A Risky Operation

Just south of the Ypres salient, Sir Douglas Haig's First British Army had suffered 11,000 casualties in an unsuccessful attack on Aubers Ridge on 9 May 1915. Less than a week later, he ordered another push, this one involving two Canadian brigades.

A Flawed Attack

The objective of Brigadier-General Richard Turner's 3rd Canadian Infantry Brigade was a small orchard opposite the village of Festubert. To the south, Brigadier-General Arthur Currie's 2nd Canadian Infantry Brigade would seize a series of trenches simply called K.5.

The Canadian forces had almost no time to prepare for the operation. Their maps contained inaccurate information and they were poorly supported by the artillery. The Germans had all the advantages of terrain and firepower and could observe preparations for the assault.

Loss and Failure

The Canadians launched several frontal assaults, but the attacking infantry were cut down by well-positioned enemy machine-guns. The Canadians made small gains over a week of fighting, but incurred 2,468 casualties in a series of largely unsuccessful attacks. Since the Second Battle of Ypres less than a month earlier, the Canadian Division had suffered more than 8,500 casualties.

Keep exploring with these topics: Sir Douglas Haig, Rifles, and Supplying War

Le Canada et la Première Guerre mondiale

Festubert

À la bataille de Festubert, en mai 1915, les troupes canadiennes ne gagnèrent guère de terrain et subirent de terribles pertes.

Une opération risquée

Juste au sud du saillant d'Ypres, la Première Armée britannique de sir Douglas Haig avait subi 11 000 pertes au cours d'une attaque infructueuse contre la crête d'Aubers le 9 mai 1915. Moins d'une semaine plus tard, il ordonna une autre poussée, avec cette fois deux brigades canadiennes.

Une attaque imparfaite

L'objectif de la 3e brigade d'infanterie canadienne du brigadier-général Richard Turner était un petit verger en face du village de Festubert. Au sud, la 2e brigade d'infanterie canadienne du brigadier-général Arthur Currie s'emparerait d'une série de tranchées simplement appelée K.5.

Les forces canadiennes n'eurent presque pas de temps pour se préparer à l'opération. Leurs cartes contenaient des renseignements inexacts et elles étaient mal soutenues par l'artillerie. Les Allemands avaient tous les avantages du terrain et de la puissance de feu et purent observer les préparatifs de l'assaut.

Pertes et échec

Les Canadiens lancèrent plusieurs assauts frontaux, mais l'infanterie attaquante fut la cible de mitrailleuses ennemies bien positionnées. Les Canadiens firent de petits gains pendant une semaine de combats, mais subirent 2468 pertes au cours d'une série d'attaques pour la plupart infructueuses. Depuis la deuxième bataille d'Ypres moins d'un mois plus tôt, la division canadienne avait subi plus de 8500 pertes.

Poursuivez votre exploration avec ces sujets : Sir Douglas Haig, Fusils, et Fournir le matériel nécessaire à la guerre