Canada and the First World War

First Nations Soldiers

Close to 4,000 members of the Canadian Expeditionary Force were of aboriginal descent, an astonishing number given the limited civil rights accorded Canada's First Peoples in the early twentieth century.

Overcoming Cultural Barriers

First Peoples troops encountered a double cultural barrier in the military: the racial prejudice that marked the contemporary non-aboriginal world, and a military hierarchy that worked almost exclusively in English, a language many aboriginal recruits did not speak. Records and memoirs suggest that most units eventually embraced First Peoples soldiers, even providing a more welcoming or progressive environment than other areas of contemporary society.

A Record of Accomplishment

First Peoples troops left a remarkable record of wartime accomplishment. Several were commissioned as officers, and many served as battle-hardened platoon leaders and combat instructors. At least 50 were decorated for bravery on the battlefield. Many acquired near-legendary status as scouts and snipers, drawing on pre-war hunting skills and wilderness experience. The most decorated, Corporal Francis Pegahmagabow, an Ojibwa from the Parry Island Band near Parry Sound, Ontario, received the Military Medal and two bars for his bravery and effectiveness as a sniper. Former rodeo performer Henry Norwest, a Metis, was credited with 115 kills before his death. Alexander Smith, Jr. and his brother Charles, the sons of Six Nations Cayuga chief Alexander G. Smith, were both awarded the Military Cross.

Problems of Re-establishment

Many First Peoples soldiers returned from the war hoping that their sacrifice and achievements on the battlefield would lead to greater recognition and improved living conditions at home. Federal policy extended many post-war benefits to aboriginal veterans, but not as many as those accorded non-aboriginals. Nor did the war herald a broader breakthrough in civil liberties for First Nations. Many aboriginal veterans, including Francis Pegahmagabow, became politically active in the protection of their communities and the advancement of First Nations rights.

Le Canada et la Première Guerre mondiale

Les soldats amérindiens

Près de 4000 membres du Corps expéditionnaire canadien étaient d'ascendance autochtone, nombre impressionnant, compte tenu du peu de droits civils dont jouissaient les Premiers Peuples du Canada au début du XXe siècle.

Faire tomber les barrières culturelles

Les soldats autochtones étaient confrontés à une double barrière culturelle dans l'armée : les préjugés raciaux du monde non-autochtone et la hiérarchie militaire qui fonctionnait presque exclusivement en anglais, langue que beaucoup de recrues autochtones ne parlaient pas. Les documents et les mémoires semblent indiquer que la plupart des unités finirent par accueillir des soldats autochtones et même leur offrirent un environnment plus accueillant et plus progressite que d'autres secteurs de la société contemporaine.

Une réputation enviable

Les soldats des Premiers Peuples s'acquirent une réputation enviable pour leurs exploits en temps de guerre. Plusieurs d'entre eux furent nommés officiers et beaucoup furent des chefs de peloton et des instructeurs de combat aguerris. Au moins 50 d'entre eux furent décorés pour bravoure sur le champ de bataille. Nombreux furent ceux qui devinrent des légendes comme éclaireurs et tireurs d'élite, se servant de leurs aptitudes de chasseurs et à se déplacer dans la nature acquises avant la guerre. L'Autochtone qui reçut le plus grand nombre de décorations, le caporal Francis Pegahmagabow, un Ojibwé de la bande de Parry Island près de Parry Sound (Ontario), fut décoré de la Médaille militaire et de deux barrettes pour sa bravoure et son efficacité en tant que tireur d'élite. L'ancien participant à des épreuves de rodéo, Henry Norwest, un Métis, enregistra 115 victoires avant sa mort. Alexander Smith junior et son frère Charles, les fils du chef cayuga membre des Six Nations Alexander G. Smith, reçurent tous deux la Croix militaire.

Le difficile retour à la vie civile

De nombreux soldats autochtones revinrent de la guerre avec l'espoir que leur sacrifice ou que leurs actions sur le champ de bataille leur assurerait une plus grande reconnaissance et améliorerait leurs conditions de vie au pays. Les politiques du gouvernement fédéral offrirent aux anciens combattants autochtones beaucoup des avantages offerts aux anciens combattants non-autochtones après la guerre, mais pas tous. La guerre ne fit rien non plus pour accroître les droits civils des Premières Nations. Nombre d'anciens combattants autochtones, et parmi eux Francis Pegahmagabow, s'investirent activement dans la politique afin de protéger leurs communautés et de faire reconnaître les droits des Autochtones.