Canada and the First World War

Fraternization

Soldiers and civilians interacted frequently during the First World War.

Contact in Homes and Restaurants

While there were no civilians in the trenches, there were many communities behind the lines. At times, soldiers were billeted in the homes of French or Belgian civilians. While there was always military training and work fatigues that intruded on the "rest" period behind the lines, soldiers generally had the right to visit other units behind the lines or a local village. In these civilian communities, soldiers, after receiving their pay, went to visit the French and Belgian civilian-run estaminets, small restaurants which typically served fried eggs, chips, and watery beer.

Sex

Leave also provided men the opportunity for interaction with women, including sexual relations. An unwelcome byproduct was a startlingly high rate of venereal disease, nearly one in every nine Canadian soldiers over the course of the war. There were few reported cases of homosexuality among the soldiers in their own letters and memoirs, but this was a punishable crime according to military law so perhaps it was unrecorded.

Love and New Families

Canadian soldiers - in training, on leave, or in the hospital - also fell in love. By war's end, an estimated 15,000 Canadian war brides and children lived in the United Kingdom. Many of these families later came to Canada to build new lives in a new country.

Le Canada et la Première Guerre mondiale

Fraternisation

Les soldats et les civils eurent de fréquents contacts pendant la Première Guerre mondiale.

Contacts dans les foyers et les restaurants

Bien qu'il n'y eût aucun civil dans les tranchées, il y avait de nombreuses localités derrière les lignes. Les soldats étaient parfois logés dans les maisons de civils français ou belges. Même si les périodes de repos derrière les lignes étaient ponctuées par des séances d'entraînement militaire et des corvées, les soldats avaient en règle générale le droit de visiter d'autres unités derrière les lignes ou un village avoisinant. Dans ces communautés civiles, les soldats, après avoir touché leur paie, se rendaient dans des estaminets tenus par des civils français ou belges, de petits restaurants qui servaient généralement des œufs poêlés, des frites et de la bière diluée.

Le sexe

Les permissions permettaient également aux hommes d'avoir des relations avec des femmes, y compris des relations sexuelles. Une conséquence fâcheuse de ces relations fut un taux étonnamment élevé de maladies vénériennes, qui touchèrent près d'un soldat canadien sur neuf pendant la durée de la guerre. Il y eut peu de cas d'homosexualité rapportés par les soldats dans leurs lettres et mémoires personnels, mais comme il s'agissait d'un crime punissable en vertu du droit militaire on n'en parlait probablement pas.

L'amour et les nouvelles familles

Les soldats canadiens - pendant l'entraînement, en permission ou à l'hôpital - tombaient aussi amoureux. On estime qu'à la fin de la guerre 15 000 épouses de guerre et leurs enfants vivaient au Royaume-Uni. Beaucoup de ces familles vinrent plus tard au Canada pour se construire une nouvelle vie dans un nouveau pays.