Canada and the First World War

Tommy Canuck: The Infantry Soldier

Civilian-soldiers, most of them volunteers, comprised the bulk of Canada's overseas military.

Canadian Army, British Troops?

In the war's early years, most Canadian troops were not Canadian born. In the First Contingent that went overseas in late 1914, 70 per cent had been born in the United Kingdom. This reflected pre-war immigration from the British Isles and the patriotic ties between recent arrivals and the mother country, but it was still a high number. In Australia's first contingent, for example, 73 per cent were native-born. At war's end, despite the compulsory service imposed by the Military Service Act, only 51 per cent of the Canadian Expeditionary Force (CEF) was Canadian-born. The comparable figure for Australia was 84 per cent.

An Army Drawn from Across the Country

The soldiers who formed the Canadian Expeditionary Force were drawn from across the country. While more Canadians lived in rural areas than cities, it is unclear if this divide was reflected in the CEF. Most units were actually recruited in urban centres, where much of the recruiting effort was directed, and statistical breakdowns by province only include data from the place of enlistment and not the place of birth. If a Maritimer enlisted in Winnipeg, the record would indicate that the recruit came from the West. Despite these limitations, it is clear that Ontario and the West contributed the most troops, while Quebeckers and Maritimers enlisted in proportionately fewer numbers. This may have been due to several factors:

  • the higher proportion of recent British-born immigrants in the West, especially in relation to the Maritimes;
  • the close link in many parts of Ontario to Britain;
  • less formal ties of culture and language in the province of Quebec to Britain;
  • the difficulties of French-speakers serving in an English army;
  • lack of support for the war among Quebec's social and political elites, except in Montreal.

Of the almost to 620,000 Canadians who enlisted voluntarily or were conscripted, roughly 424,000 served overseas in the Canadian Expeditionary Force.

A Social History of the Soldier

Most Canadian soldiers were between the ages of 18 and 45, as per regulations, but thousands served who were younger or older, lying about their birth date to enlist. The oldest recorded member of the CEF was 80, while the youngest was ten. The average age of the Canadian soldier was 26.

Eighty per cent of the CEF were bachelors. Most recruits were literate, but they would not on average have stayed in school beyond grade six, as was customary in Canadian society at the time. They carried overseas a strong culture of music and singing, informed by social custom, education, and religion. The CEF was a religious army and most soldiers upon enlistment noted their religion on their Attestation paper.

  • Anglicans: 31.9 per cent
  • Catholics: 22.9 per cent
  • Presbyterians: 21.1 per cent
  • Methodists: 13.6 per cent

Canadian Reputation

Patriotic romanticism reinforced by official propaganda forged a reputation that the Canadians were an army of fearsome lumberjacks, voyageurs, or cowboys, but most had been prewar labourers, white-collar workers, or farmers. The Canadians nevertheless took great pride in differentiating themselves from British troops, even - or perhaps especially - by their well-documented tendency toward indiscipline. Soldiers of the First Contingent especially were noted for pushing the boundaries of proper military behavior, calling officers by their first names or refusing to salute. By 1917, senior commanders, including Sir Douglas Haig, recognized the Canadians as an effective military force, but their carefully self-cultivated reputation for restlessness, brawling, and indifference to military etiquette continued throughout the war.

The Canadians resented being mistaken for other imperials. They responded to "Canada," "Canuck," or just "Tommy" when addressed as such by Allied troops or civilians, and took overseas many of the songs, idioms, and attitudes that had marked their lives in Canada. While the Canadians wore similar uniforms and carried similar weapons as British troops, they sported unique unit cap badges and shoulder bars that read "CANADA."

Le Canada et la Première Guerre mondiale

Tommy Canuck : le fantassin

La majorité des militaires canadiens envoyés outre-mer étaient des soldats civils, pour la plupart volontaires.

L'armée canadienne, des troupes britanniques?

Dans les toutes premières années de la guerre, la plupart des soldats canadiens n'étaient pas nés au Canada. Le premier contingent envoyé outre-mer à la fin de 1914 était constitué à 70 pour cent de soldats originaires du Royaume-Uni. Cet état de choses était dû à l'arrivée d'immigrants en provenance des îles Britanniques avant la guerre ainsi qu'aux liens patriotiques existant entre les nouveaux arrivants et leur mère-patrie, mais c'était néanmoins un pourcentage élevé. Dans le premier contingent australien, par exemple, 73 pour cent des soldats étaient nés en Australie. À la fin de la guerre, malgré le service obligatoire imposé par la Loi du Service Militaire, seulement 51 % des soldats du Corps expéditionnaire canadien (CEC) étaient nés au Canada, comparativement à 84 pour cent pour l'Australie.

Une armée constituée de soldats de toutes les régions du pays

Les soldats qui formaient le Corps expéditionnaire canadien étaient originaires de toutes les régions du pays. Davantage de Canadiens habitaient dans les régions rurales que dans les villes, mais il n'est pas certain que cet écart se reflétait dans le CEC. La plupart des unités étaient en fait recrutées dans les centres urbains, où les efforts de recrutement étaient surtout centrés, et les ventilations statistiques par province n'indiquent que le lieu d'enrôlement et non le lieu de naissance. Si une recrue des Maritimes s'enrôlait à Winnipeg, elle était inscrite comme venant de l'Ouest. Malgré tout, il est clair que l'Ontario et l'Ouest fournirent le plus grand nombre de soldats alors que les Québécois et les habitants des Maritimes s'enrôlèrent proportionnellement en moins grand nombre. Cela peut être dû à plusieurs facteurs :

  • la proportion plus élevée d'immigrants récents originaires de Grande-Bretagne dans l'Ouest, surtout comparativement aux Maritimes;
  • le lien étroit existant entre de nombreuses parties de l'Ontario et la Grande-Bretagne;
  • des liens culturels et linguistiques moins officiels entre le Québec et la Grande-Bretagne;
  • la difficulté pour des francophones de servir dans une armée anglophone;
  • le faible appui à la guerre des élites sociales et politiques québécoises, sauf à Montréal.

Sur près de 620 000 Canadiens qui s'enrôlèrent volontairement ou furent conscrits, environ 424 000 servirent outre-mer dans le Corps expéditionnaire canadien.

Histoire sociale du soldat

La plupart des soldats canadiens avaient entre 18 et 45 ans, comme l'exigeait la loi, mais des milliers d'autres étaient plus jeunes ou plus âgés, ayant menti sur leur date de naissance pour s'enrôler. Le membre le plus âgé du CEC avait 80 ans et le plus jeune dix ans. La moyenne d'âge du soldat canadien était de 26 ans.

Quatre-vingt pour cent des soldats du CEC étaient célibataires. La plupart des recrues savaient lire et écrire, mais n'avaient pas, en moyenne, dépassé la sixième année, ce qui était habituel dans la société canadienne de l'époque. Ils emmenaient avec eux outre-mer une solide culture de musique et de chant qui leur venait de leurs coutumes sociales, de leur éducation et de la religion. Le CEC était une armée composée de croyants et la plupart des soldats lors de leur enrôlement indiquaient leur religion sur leur feuille d'engagement.

  • Anglicans : 31,9 pour cent
  • Catholiques : 22,9 pour cent
  • Presbytériens : 21,1 pour cent
  • Méthodistes : 13,6 pour cent

La réputation des Canadiens

Le romantisme patriotique, étayé par la propagande officielle, avait forgé aux Canadiens la réputation d'une armée de bûcherons redoutables, de voyageurs ou de cow-boys, mais la plupart avant la guerre étaient des ouvriers, des cols blancs ou des agriculteurs. Néanmoins, les Canadiens s'enorgueillissaient de leurs différences avec les troupes britanniques, même - ou peut-être particulièrement - de leur tendance avérée à l'indiscipline. Les soldats du premier contingent, surtout, étaient réputés repousser les frontières du comportement militaire convenable, appelant les officiers par leur prénom ou refusant de saluer. En 1917, les commandants supérieurs, y compris sir Douglas Haig, reconnurent que les Canadiens étaient une force militaire efficace, mais leur réputation soigneusement cultivée d'agités, de bagarreurs et de soldats indifférents à l'étiquette militaire les suivit pendant toute la guerre.

Les Canadiens ne prisaient guère d'être pris pour d'autres impériaux. Ils appréciaient se faire appeler « Canada », « Canuck » ou tout simplement « Tommy » par les troupes alliées ou les civils, et ils amenèrent avec eux outre-mer beaucoup des chansons, des expressions et des comportements qui leur tenaient à cœur au Canada. Alors que les Canadiens portaient des uniformes et étaient équipés d'armes semblables à ceux des Britanniques, ils portaient des insignes de calot distinctifs indiquant leur unité ainsi qu'un galon sur l'épaule sur lequel étrait inscrit « CANADA »