Canada and the First World War

Sir Julian Byng

As commander of the Canadian Corps from May 1916 to June 1917, Byng transformed the Canadians into a well-trained and effective striking force whose victory at Vimy was one of most spectacular "set-piece" attacks of the war.

A Capable, Popular General

Byng came from a long line of military forebears - his grandfather had been a senior officer at Waterloo in 1815 - and he had held senior commands in Egypt, France, and Gallipoli before taking over the Canadian Corps. He replaced Lieutenant-General E.A.H. Alderson who had been removed from command after the Battle of St. Eloi.

While he came from an aristocratic family, Byng was loved and trusted by his troops, who soon began to call themselves the "Byng Boys." He commanded the Canadians through several battles in 1916 and, after the Somme campaign in the fall, instigated a variety of reforms designed to improve the Corps' training and tactical performance. Byng's intensive preparatory regime of practice and planning resulted in the capture of Vimy Ridge after a vicious four-day battle in April 1917.

Promotion and Replacement

Within two months of this success, Byng was elevated to command the Third British Army. He helped to develop and led the historic tank attack at Cambrai in 1917 and played a key role in the decisive battles of late 1918 that led to Germany's defeat. The replacement Byng recommended to command the Canadians Corps, his protégé and former divisional commander Arthur Currie, assumed command in June 1917 and held it through the end of the war.

Post-War Honours and Appointments

Byng took the title "Byng of Vimy" on being raised to the peerage after the war. From 1921 to 1926, he served as Governor General of Canada. Viscount Byng of Vimy died in 1935, much mourned by Canadians, including those he had led successfully in battle.

Keep exploring with these topics: Vimy Ridge, Arras and Canal du Nord, and Solving the Trench Stalemate

Le Canada et la Première Guerre mondiale

Sir Julian Byng

Commandant du Corps canadien de mai 1916 à juin 1917, Byng transforma les Canadiens en une force de frappe bien entraînée et efficace, dont la bataille victorieuse à Vimy fut l'une des attaques planifiées les plus spectaculaires de la guerre.

Un général populaire et compétent

Byng était issu d'une longue lignée de militaires - son grand-père avait été officier supérieur à Waterloo en 1815 - et il avait détenu des commandements importants en Égypte, en France et à Gallipoli avant de prendre le commandement du Corps canadien. Il remplaça le lieutenant-général E.A.H. Alderson, auquel on avait retiré son commandement après la bataille de Saint-Éloi.

Bien qu'issu d'une famille aristocratique, Byng était aimé de ses troupes, qui avaient confiance en lui. Ses soldats ne tardèrent pas à s'appeler les « Byng Boys » (les gars de Byng). Il commanda les Canadiens au cours de plusieurs batailles en 1916 et, après la campagne de la Somme à l'automne, il suscita diverses réformes visant à améliorer l'entraînement et le rendement tactique du Corps. Le régime préparatoire intensif de Byng - entraînement et planification - permit la prise de la crête de Vimy après une violente bataille de quatre jours en avril 1917.

Promotion et remplacement

Deux mois après ce succès, Byng fut promu au poste de commandant de la Troisième Armée britannique. Il contribua à élaborer et à conduire l'historique attaque avec des chars à Cambrai en 1917, et joua un rôle clé dans les batailles décisives de la fin de 1918 qui menèrent à la défaite de l'Allemagne. Le remplaçant que Byng recommanda pour commander le Corps canadien, son protégé Arthur Currie, ancien commandant de division, assuma le commandement en juin 1917 et le conserva jusqu'à la fin de la guerre.

Honneurs et nominations après-guerre

Byng prit le titre « Byng de Vimy » lorsqu'il fut élevé à la pairie après la guerre. De 1921 à 1926, il fut Gouverneur général du Canada. Le vicomte Byng de Vimy mourut en 1935, pleuré par de nombreux Canadiens, dont ceux qu'il avait commandés avec succès au combat.

Poursuivez votre exploration avec ces sujets : Crête de Vimy, Arras et Canal du Nord et Résoudre l'impasse des tranchées