Canada and the First World War

Medals and Decorations

Medals and decorations provided soldiers with recognition of their length or type of service and were awarded for bravery or meritorious service. The awarding of medals and decorations could be a positive reinforcement to others in their unit or branch of service, but most felt they were doing their duty and did not serve to receive medals.

Medals

Medals could be given for both service and bravery, but the most common were the service medals, such as the British War Medal 1914-1920 and the Victory Medal 1914-1919.  The vast majority of Canadian Expeditionary Force members received these two medals. Far fewer qualified for the 1914-15 Star, which was awarded to service personnel who had served in France and Belgium prior to 31 December 1915, and the even rarer 1914 Star was awarded for service for those who served before 23 December 1914.

Decorations

Decorations and select medals honoured soldiers for bravery on the battlefield or for distinguished service. The British Empire's highest award for bravery was the Victoria Cross, instituted in 1856. Seventy Canadians were awarded the Victoria Cross during the First World War, many of them posthumously.  Other decorations and medals awarded during the war included the Distinguished Service Order, the Military Cross, the Distinguished Conduct Medal, and the Military Medal. The first two were reserved for officers, with some Warrant Officers receiving the Military Cross, and the latter two were reserved solely for non-commissioned officers and other ranks. In the case of all of these medals, a second award was recognized by the addition of a bar, worn on the ribbon.

There were also distinctive decorations for naval personnel, such as the Distinguished Service Cross, and the Royal Red Cross for members of the nursing services. The new air services were recognized with decorations and medals for their particular environment. These included the Distinguished Flying Cross and Air Force Cross.

As the war progressed, and the armies expanded rapidly, new medals were struck and they were issued more frequently. Some soldiers felt this diluted the distinguished effort required to be recognized with a decoration, but these decorations were still incredibly rare and most often awarded for heroic deeds of valour and sacrifice.

Keep exploring with these topics: Vimy Ridge, Fliers, and Memorials in Canada

Le Canada et la Première Guerre mondiale

Médailles et décorations

Les médailles et les décorations soulignaient la longueur et le type de service des soldats et étaient accordées pour bravoure ou service méritoire. Les médailles et les décorations constituaient une motivation positive pour les autres soldats de leur unité ou de leur secteur de service, mais la plupart considéraient qu'ils ne faisaient que leur devoir et ne se battaient pas pour obtenir des médailles.

Les médailles

Les médailles pouvaient être décernées tant pour le service que la bravoure, mais les médailles les plus nombreuses étaient celles qui récompensaient le service, comme la Médaille de guerre britannique 1914-1920 et la Médaille de la victoire 1914-1919. La grande majorité des membres du Corps expéditionnaire canadien reçurent ces deux médailles. Beaucoup moins se méritèrent l'Étoile de 1914-1915, qui était conférée aux effectifs du personnel qui avaient servi en France et en Belgique avant le 31 décembre 1915, et l'Étoile de 1914, plus rare encore, réservée à ceux qui avaient servi avant le 23 décembre 1914.

Les décorations

Des décorations et des médailles particulières reconnaissaient la bravoure sur le champ de bataille ou le service distingué des soldats. La plus haute distinction pour bravoure de l'Empire britannique était la Croix de Victoria, instituée en 1856. Soixante-dix canadiens furent décorés de la Croix de Victoria pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, nombre d'entre eux à titre posthume. Parmi les autres décorations et médailles décernées pendant la guerre, on peut citer l'Ordre du service distingué, la Croix militaire, la Médaille de conduite distinguée et la Médaille militaire. Les deux premières récompensaient les officiers, certains adjudants recevant la Croix militaire, et les deux dernières étaient réservées aux sous-officiers et aux autres grades. Dans le cas de toutes ces médailles, une deuxième citation était reconnue par l'ajout d'une barrette portée sur le ruban.

Il existait également des décorations particulières pour le personnel naval, notamment la Croix du service distingué et l'Ordre de la Croix-Rouge royale pour les membres des services infirmiers. Les nouveaux services aériens eurent également droit à des décorations et des médailles propres à leur environnement particulier, par exemple la Croix du service distingué dans l'Aviation et la Croix de l'aviation.

La guerre se poursuivant et les armées s'agrandissant rapidement, de nouvelles médailles furent frappées et décernées plus fréquemment. Certains soldats trouvaient que cela amoindrissait l'effort particulier qu'il fallait fournir pour recevoir une décoration, mais elles demeuraient tout de même incroyablement rares et surtout accordées pour des actes héroïques de bravoure et de sacrifice.

Poursuivez votre exploration avec ces sujets : La crête de Vimy, Les aviateurs et Monuments commémoratifs au Canada