Canada and the First World War

Underground Mining

The siege warfare that characterized the Western Front saw the re-introduction of many older methods of fighting, including the use of underground mines to defeat fortifications.

Finding Room to Maneuver

The extensions of trench lines from Switzerland to the North Sea left armies little room to maneuver, while the killing power of modern weapons made frontal attacks difficult and costly. If dug-in, constantly alert enemies could not be by-passed or pushed through, could their defences be cracked from underneath?

This technique, of digging under an enemy trench or wall in order to get past it, or to use explosives to destroy it, was hundreds of years old. But it had usually been employed in formal siege warfare, against the walls or fortifications of cities and towns, and rarely against armies in the field.

Underground Mining Comes to the Battlefield

Trench warfare saw the science of underground mining adopted by field armies.

Specialized mining companies pushed tunnels under enemy trenches to plant explosive charges and blow up the position. These operations could take months to complete and often were used in conjunction with large-scale raids or offensive operations.

Canada's Experienced Miners

Canada raised four tunnelling companies of which three served at the front. The Canadian tunneling companies served with British formations under the Controller of Mines at General Headquarters. In the summer of 1918, two of the three companies (the third continued to serve with the British) were disbanded, with 1,100 tunnellers redistributed throughout the Canadian Corps' engineer battalions.

Counter-mines and Underground Battles

Most battlefield miners had been miners or engineers in civilian life and were familiar with the dark, claustrophobic work that characterized this dangerous activity. While miners tried to work in silence lest they be heard by enemy troops, there were occasional vicious subterranean battles as two groups of miners encountered one another, or when tunnels opened into an enemy position. Miners also worked against one another, planting explosives in the hope of caving in enemy tunnels.

Keep exploring with these topics: Vimy Ridge, St. Eloi, and Trench Warfare Starts

Le Canada et la Première Guerre mondiale

Mines souterraines

La guerre de siège qui caractérisait le front occidental vit la réintroduction de nombre de méthodes plus anciennes de combat, dont l'utilisation de mines souterraines pour détruire les fortifications.

Trouver de la place pour manœuvrer

Les lignes de tranchées présentes de la Suisse à la mer du Nord ne laissaient guère de place aux armées pour manœuvrer, et la puissance mortelle des armes modernes rendait les attaques de front difficiles et coûteuses. S'il était impossible de contourner ou de franchir les positions d'ennemis protégés par des tranchées et constamment en état d'alerte, pouvait-on anéantir leurs défenses par en dessous?

Cette technique consistant à creuser sous la tranchée ou le mur d'un ennemi pour passer au-delà, ou pour utiliser des explosifs en vue de les détruire, datait de plusieurs siècles. Mais on l'utilisait généralement dans les guerres de siège en bonne et due forme, contre les murs ou les fortifications des villes, et rarement contre des armées de campagne.

Les mines souterraines arrivent sur le champ de bataille

La guerre des tranchées vit l'adoption par les armées de campagne de la pose de mines souterraines.

Des compagnies spécialisées dans la pose de mines creusaient des tunnels sous les tranchées ennemies afin de poser des charges explosives et de faire sauter la position. Ces opérations pouvaient durer des mois et souvent elles avaient lieu conjointement avec des incursions ou des opérations offensives à grande échelle.

Les mineurs expérimentés du Canada

Le Canada leva quatre compagnies de sapeurs-mineurs dont trois servirent au front. Les compagnies canadiennes de sapeurs-mineurs servirent avec des formations britanniques sous le Controller of Mines au quartier général principal. À l'été 1918, deux des trois compagnies (la troisième continua à servir avec les Britanniques) furent dispersées, 1100 sapeurs-mineurs étant redistribués à travers les bataillons de génie du Corps canadien.

Mines et batailles souterraines

La plupart des mineurs des champs de bataille avaient été mineurs ou ingénieurs dans la vie civile et connaissaient bien cette activité dangereuse qui se caractérisait par le travail dans des milieux clos et sombres. Les mineurs essayaient de travailler en silence de peur d'être entendus par les troupes ennemies, mais il y eut à l'occasion des batailles souterraines violentes quand deux groupes de mineurs se rencontraient, ou quand des tunnels débouchaient sur une position ennemie. Les mineurs travaillaient aussi souvent les uns contre les autres, posant des explosifs dans l'espoir de tomber dans des tunnels ennemis.

Poursuivez votre exploration avec ces sujets : Crête de Vimy, Saint-Éloi, et Guerre des tranchées