Canada and the First World War

Mount Sorrel

The Canadians fought the Battle of Mount Sorrel in the Ypres salient from 2 to 13 June 1916.

German Attack in the Ypres Salient

In the summer of 1916, the Canadian Corps held the southern part of the Ypres salient. The Germans attacked the Canadian lines to secure the last remaining high ground still in British hands. They also sought to divert Allied resources from the large offensive they knew was being prepared in the Somme region.

German Bombardment and Mining

The 3rd Canadian Division, which had been formed in December 1915, was the target of a crushing German bombardment on the morning of 2 June. The barrage devastated the forward Canadian positions and killed hundreds, including the division commander, Major-General Malcolm Mercer. German infantry then swept forward, capturing Canadian positions at Mount Sorrel and on two surrounding hills. A hastily organized counterattack on 3 June failed. Three days later, the Germans exploded four mines under the Canadian positions and captured the village of Hooge.

Success after Initial Losses

The Canadian Corps commander, Sir Julian Byng, was determined to retake the lost ground and attacked, after a heavy artillery bombardment, during the early hours of 13 June. In this major set-piece battle, the Canadians drove back the Germans and recaptured much of the lost ground.

The Battle of Mount Sorrel lasted for almost two weeks and cost the Canadians over 8,000 casualties. Having lost the first two phases of the battle, the Canadians achieved victory in the final operation. Careful planning and concentrated artillery bombardments had begun to tip the balance on the First World War battlefields in favour of attackers over entrenched defenders.

Keep exploring with these topics: Artillery and Mortars, Machine-Guns, and "Shellshock"

Le Canada et la Première Guerre mondiale

Mont Sorrel

Les Canadiens livrèrent la bataille du mont Sorrel, dans le saillant d'Ypres, du 2 au 13 juin 1916.

Attaque allemande dans le saillant d'Ypres

À l'été 1916, le Corps canadien était maître de la partie sud du saillant d'Ypres. Les Allemands attaquèrent les lignes canadiennes pour s'assurer le dernier terrain surélevé encore aux mains des Britanniques. Ils cherchèrent aussi à détourner des ressources alliées de la grande offensive qu'ils savaient en cours de préparation dans la région de la Somme.

Bombardement et pose de mines par les Allemands

La 3e division canadienne, constituée en décembre 1915, fut la cible d'un violent bombardement allemand le matin du 2 juin. Le barrage dévasta les positions canadiennes avancées et tua des centaines d'hommes, dont le commandant de la division, le major-général Malcolm Mercer. L'infanterie allemande se rua alors en avant et s'empara de positions canadiennes au mont Sorrel et de deux collines environnantes. Une contre-attaque organisée à la hâte le 3 juin échoua. Trois jours plus tard, les Allemands firent exploser quatre mines sous les positions canadiennes et prirent le village de Hooge.

Succès après les pertes initiales

Le commandant du Corps canadien, sir Julian Byng, était déterminé à reprendre le terrain perdu et attaqua, après un violent bombardement d'artillerie, aux premières heures du 13 juin. Lors de cette attaque bien préparée, les Canadiens repoussèrent les Allemands et reprirent une partie du terrain perdu.

La bataille du mont Sorrel dura près de deux semaines et fit plus de 8000 pertes chez les Canadiens. Ayant perdu les deux premières phases de la bataille, les Canadiens obtinrent la victoire lors de l'opération finale. Une préparation soignée et des bombardements d'artillerie concentrée avaient commencé à faire pencher la balance sur les champs de bataille de la Première Guerre mondiale en faveur des attaquants contre les défenseurs retranchés.

Poursuivez votre exploration avec ces sujets : Artillerie et mortiers, Mitrailleuses, et Le traumatisme dû aux bombardements