Canada and the First World War

The Canadian Patriotic Fund

Patriotic funds had existed in Canada for over a hundred years. Mainly private initiatives, they took donations from individuals and businesses to support soldiers and their dependents, during and after wars.

Money for Families

Montreal social activist and manufacturer Sir Herbert Ames followed these precedents in August 1914 in establishing the Canadian Patriotic Fund (CPF). A private organization with the Governor-General as patron and the federal minister of finance as treasurer, the CPF would raise nearly $50 million for soldiers' families, distributing it through a vast network of local volunteers. The Fund urged Canadians "to fight or pay," and sought to reassure married men - 20 per cent of all Canadian soldiers during the war - that wives and families would be cared for in their absence.

Entitlement Influenced by Social Values

The CPF performed its principal tasks - fundraising, relief, and the provision of social advice to recipients - with conservative views on entitlement and moral virtue firmly in mind. Fund investigators, including hundreds of women, acted as volunteer social workers, visiting families to determine their level of need or eligibility, and often advising them on how to manage war-related social issues such as budgeting, child care, nutrition, and personal hygiene. Recipients considered undeserving could be dropped without appeal.

Lesson Learned: The Welfare State

The CPF and other private initiatives performed essential work, but the war convinced most Canadians that support for soldiers' families was a public responsibility. During the Second World War, the CPF would not be reinstituted and soldier welfare would be handled by the federal government. This was an important component in the growth of Canada's welfare state.

Le Canada et la Première Guerre mondiale

Le Fonds patriotique canadien

Les fonds patriotiques existaient au Canada depuis plus d'un siècle. Principalement privés, ils acceptaient des dons de particuliers et d'entreprises pour aider les soldats et leurs personnes à charge pendant et après les guerres.

De l'argent pour les familles

Le militant pour l'action sociale et manufacturier de Montréal, sir Herbert Ames, poursuivit dans cette voie et créa en août 1914 le Fonds patriotique canadien (FPC). Organisation privée parrainée par le ministre fédéral des finances, qui en était le trésorier, le FPC allait recueillir près de 50 millions de dollars pour les familles des soldats et les distribuer grâce à un vaste réseau de bénévoles locaux. Le Fonds exhortait les Canadiens « à se battre ou à payer », et s'efforçait de garantir aux hommes mariés - 20 pour cent de tous les soldats canadiens pendant la guerre - qu'on allait prendre soin de leurs femmes et de leurs familles en leur absence.

Admissibilité influencée par les valeurs sociales

Dans l'accomplissement de sa mission - recueillir des fonds, apporter des secours et donner des conseils de nature sociale aux bénéficiaires - le FPC professait des opinions conservatrices quant à l'admissiblité fortement axée sur la vertu morale. Les personnes chargées des enquêtes pour le fonds, notamment des centaines de femmes, agissaient en qualité de travailleurs sociaux bénévoles, visitant les familles pour déterminer leurs besoins et leur admissiblité. Elles les conseillaient souvent sur la façon de résoudre des problèmes liés à la guerre, comme l'établissement d'un budget, les soins à donner aux enfants, la nutrition et l'hygiène personnelle. Les bénéficiaires considérés comme non méritants pouvaient être abandonnés sans appel.

Une leçon bien apprise : L'État providence

Le FPC et d'autres initiatives privées effectuèrent un travail essentiel, mais la guerre convainquit la plupart des Canadiens que soutenir les familles des soldats était une responsabilité publique. Le FPC ne fut pas rétabli au cours de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale et c'est le gouvernement canadien qui allait se charger du bien-être des soldats. Ce fut un élément important de la transformation du Canada en un État providence.

Poursuivez votre exploration avec ces sujets : La guerre des enfants, Rapatriement et démobilisation et Tommy Canuck le fantassin