Canada and the First World War

Peace Activists

A small number of Canadians vocally opposed the war, despite the intense pressure in most English-speaking parts of the country for its unqualified support. The women's suffrage movement, organized labour, farming organizations, and socialist groups were well represented in the ranks of peace activists.

J.S. Woodsworth

Popular Methodist minister James S. Woodsworth was an outspoken critic of the war and, later, of conscription. At a time when most churches, including his own Methodist Church, actively supported the war and compulsory service, Woodsworth received great notoriety for refusing to use his pulpit to encourage recruitment. This anti-war stance cost Woodsworth his position as Secretary of the Canadian Welfare League, and he left the Methodist Church over its lack of commitment to pacifism and other social issues, including working class poverty.

"Radical Pacifism"

Woodsworth's rejection of the war and the means used to fight it found support among some socialists, farmers, and organized labour. Unlike liberal pacifists, many of whom supported the war as a necessary evil to defeat European militarism, radical pacifists tended to see the war in starker terms. They viewed it as evidence of a corrupt and unjust social order that could only be fixed by sweeping social and political reform. They linked this critique with broader calls for social justice, the 'conscription of wealth' before men, and expanded rights for agriculture, labour, and immigrants. Most shared the disdain of Francophone nationalists and draft resisters for Canada's seemingly uncritical support of the British Empire. In appearing to reject not just the war but the very governments and societies that had produced it, radical pacifists encouraged broad opposition to their views.

Pacifists who held to their convictions during the war often did so at great personal risk. Theirs was not a popular position, even among unionized workers, farmers, or mainstream socialists. Activists voiced their opinions through organized demonstrations, published pamphlets, and the public support of conscientious objectors. Some pacifists attracted attention and controversy by urging a negotiated peace. Others echoed the views of most Canadians in condemning wartime profiteering and business corruption.

Keep exploring with these topics: The War's Impact on Canada, and Faith and Fatalism

Le Canada et la Première Guerre mondiale

Les activistes de la paix

Un petit nombre de Canadiens s'opposaient vigoureusement à la guerre, en dépit des pressions intenses dans la plupart des régions anglophones du pays, qui l'appuyaient sans réserves. Le mouvement pour le droit de vote pour les femmes, les syndicats, les organisations agricoles et les groupes socialistes étaient bien représentés parmi les activistes de la paix.

J.S. Woodsworth

Le populaire pasteur méthodiste James S. Woodsworth s'opposa ouvertement à la guerre, et plus tard à la conscription. À un moment où la plupart des églises, dont sa propre Église méthodiste, soutenaient activement la guerre et le service militaire, Woodsworth devint célèbre pour avoir refusé d'utiliser sa chaire pour encourager le recrutement. Cette position anti-guerre coûta à Woodsworth son poste de secrétaire de la Canadian Welfare League (ligue canadiene pour le bien-être) et il quitta l'Église méthodiste parce qu'elle ne s'était pas engagée en faveur du pacifisme et d'autres questions d'ordre social, dont la pauvreté de la classe ouvrière.

« Pacifisme radical »

Le rejet de la guerre par Woodsworth et les moyens utilisés pour la combattre furent appuyés par certains socialistes, agriculteurs et syndicalistes. Contrairement aux pacifistes libéraux, dont beaucoup soutenaient la guerre, y voyant un mal nécessaire pour vaincre le militarisme européen, les pacifistes radicaux avaient tendance à voir la guerre en termes plus absolus. Ils la considéraient comme une preuve d'un ordre social corrompu et injuste ne pouvant être modifié qu'au moyen de réformes sociales et politiques radicales. Ils liaient cette critique à des appels plus généraux à la justice sociale, à la « conscription de la richesse » avant celle des hommes, et à des droits accrus pour les agriculteurs, les syndicats et les immigrants. La plupart partageaient le dédain des nationalistes francophones et des insoumis à l'égard du soutien apparemment indéfectible du Canada pour l'Empire britannique. Paraissant rejeter non seulement la guerre mais également les gouvernements et les sociétés qui en étaient à l'origine, les pacifistes radicaux virent leurs opinions largement exclues.

Les pacifistes qui restèrent attachés à leurs convictions pendant la guerre le firent souvent à leurs risques et périls. Leur position n'était pas populaire, même parmi les ouvriers syndiqués, les agriculteurs ou les socialistes du courant dominant. Les activistes exprimaient leurs opinions par des manifestations organisées et des brochures, et en soutenant publiquement les objecteurs de conscience. Certains pacifistes faisaient l'objet de controverses en favorisant une paix négociée. D'autres se faisaient l'écho de l'opinion de la plupart des Canadiens en condamnant la réalisation de bénéfices excessifs et la corruption en affaires.

Poursuivez votre exploration avec les sujets suivants : L'incidence de la guerre sur le Canada, et Foi et fatalisme