Canada and the First World War

Civilian Reintegration

The transition from military to civilian life was often difficult for men and women who had been away for years. Soldiers lobbied for greater financial benefits and forms of recognition while adjusting to civilian lives. Governments sought to remain financially responsible while still treating veterans appropriately. Post-war social and economic unrest affected the prospects for both.

Something Owed?

Wartime propaganda had promised veterans a "land fit for heroes," but the fragile Canadian economy had difficulty supporting hundreds of thousands of demobilized soldiers. Some veterans returned to pre-war jobs, which had often been held for them by patriotic employers, but others struggled as industries geared to military production reduced their workforces or closed altogether. The federal Department of Soldiers' Civil Re-establishment, founded in 1918, provided vocational training as well as medical treatment, but an economic downturn in 1919-1920 left many veterans out of work, along with 200,000 other Canadians.

Canada developed a progressive, if complicated, pension and benefits scheme, but not all veterans were equally eligible. Those suffering from poison gas, chronic illness, or mental trauma, for example, often had difficulty convincing pension adjudicators that their symptoms were war-related, the prerequisite for a successful claim. Soldiers without arms, legs, or eyes were difficult to refute, but those with disease, debilitating illness, or psychological ailments encountered greater skepticism and more frequent rejection.

Veterans Push Back

Many veterans believed that government should do more. Some joined labour actions that swept the country in 1919, including the violent Winnipeg General Strike. Thousands united in organizations such as the Great War Veterans Association to exercise greater influence in Canadian society. One of their primary demands was a $2,000 bonus for each veteran as compensation for lost income during years of wartime service. While the bonus issue rallied many veterans' organizations, a succession of governments rejected the proposal as unaffordable in a debt-ridden country.

Veterans and their supporters helped strengthen the nature and extent of Ottawa's post-war benefits regime but, for most returning soldiers, political advocacy was a relatively minor aspect of the repatriation period. They reconnected with loved ones and rebuilt civilian lives, often relying on new federal programs in order to do so.

Keep exploring with these topics: Finance and War Production, Government Intervention, and "Shellshock"

Le Canada et la Première Guerre mondiale

Réinsertion dans la vie civile

La transition de la vie militaire à la vie civile fut souvent difficile pour des hommes et des femmes qui étaient au loin depuis des années. Les soldats faisaient pression pour obtenir de plus grands avantages financiers et des formes de reconnaissance tout en s'adaptant à la vie civile. Les gouvernements cherchaient à demeurer solvables tout en traitant les anciens combattants de manière convenable. Les troubles sociaux et économiques de l'après-guerre nuirent aux uns comme aux autres.

On doit quelque chose?

La propagande du temps de guerre avait promis aux anciens combattants un « pays digne des héros », mais la fragile économie canadienne peinait à soutenir des centaines de milliers de soldats démobilisés. Certains anciens combattants retrouvèrent leur emploi d'avant-guerre, qui leur avaient souvent été gardés par des employeurs patriotes, mais d'autres tirèrent le diable par la queue, les industries orientées vers la production militaire réduisant leur main-d'œuvre ou fermant leurs portes. Le ministère fédéral du Rétablissement civil des soldats, fondé en 1918, assura une formation professionnelle ainsi que des traitements médicaux, mais un ralentissement économique en 1919-1920 laissa de nombreux anciens combattants sans travail, à l'instar de 200 000 autres Canadiens.

Le Canada créa un régime de pensions et de prestations progressiste mais complexe, auquel tous les anciens combattants n'étaient pas également admissibles. Ceux qui souffraient d'avoir été intoxiqués par des gaz, de maladies chroniques ou de traumatisme mental, par exemple, avaient souvent de la difficulté à convaincre les juges-arbitres pour les pensions que leurs symptômes étaient attribuables à la guerre, le préalable pour qu'on fasse droit à une demande. Il était difficile de rejeter les demandes de soldats privés de bras, de jambes et d'yeux, mais ceux qui souffraient de maladies, de maux débilitants ou de troubles psychologiques faisaient face à davantage de scepticisme et leurs demandes étaient plus souvent rejetées.

Le combat des anciens combattants

Nombre d'anciens combattants croyaient que le gouvernement devait faire davantage. Certains se joignirent aux luttes syndicales qui balayèrent le pays en 1919, dont la violente grève générale de Winnipeg. Ils furent des milliers à s'unir dans des organisations telles que la Great War Veterans Association pour exercer une plus grande influence au sein de la société canadienne. Une de leurs exigences principales était une gratification de 2000 $ pour chaque ancien combattant pour les revenus perdus au cours de leurs années de service en temps de guerre. Cette demande fut faite par de nombreuses organisations d'anciens combattants, mais divers gouvernements successifs la rejetèrent, la jugeant trop coûteuse pour une société criblée de dettes.

Les anciens combattants et leurs partisans contribuèrent à consolider le régime de prestations d'après-guerre d'Ottawa et à l'étendre, mais, pour la plupart des soldats de retour, les plaidoyers politiques étaient un aspect relativement mineur de la période de rapatriement. Ils renouaient avec les leurs et reconstruisaient leur vie civile, ayant souvent besoin de nouveaux programmes fédéraux pour ce faire.