Canada and the First World War

Sir Sam Hughes

Sir Sam Hughes, Canada's Minister of Militia and Defence from October 1911 to November 1916, was the driving force behind Canada's early war effort.

Energetic and Controversial

Hughes increased the efficiency of the pre-war militia and, after 1914, led the Canadian war effort with enormous personal energy and drive. A talented and charismatic politician first elected in 1892, he entered Cabinet as Prime Minister Borden's defence minister in 1911 and was knighted in 1915.

In contrast to his political talents, Hughes was a poor organizer prone to patronage and cronyism in awarding military promotions and munitions contracts. Many of his favourite equipment projects were embarrassing failures. Hughes had championed the purchase of the Canadian-made Ross rifle, carried by Canadian troops at the outbreak of war, and drew serious criticism when he defended it against growing evidence of its deficiencies in combat. Hughes fought vigourously against those officers who tried to replace the Ross with his own accusations of incompetence and political malice.

Dismissed by the Prime Minister

By 1916, Hughes was a growing political liability for the government. He was detested in Quebec for his anti-French, anti-Catholic views, and distrusted by Cabinet colleagues for his financial and administrative shortcomings. His attempts to establish and control a Canadian military command structure overseas had resulted in chaos, leading in the fall to the creation by the prime minister of an overseas ministry answering directly to Cabinet. Hughes opposed the decision. In November, Borden accepted the resignation of his unhappy and increasingly disruptive minister, who remained a government back-bencher until his death in 1921.

Keep exploring with these topics: The Canadian Expeditionary Force, Training at Valcartier and Rifles

Le Canada et la Première Guerre mondiale

Sir Sam Hughes

Sir Sam Hughes, ministre canadien de la Milice et de la Défense d'octobre 1911 à novembre 1916 fut l'âme de l'effort de guerre canadien à ses débuts.

Un homme énergique et controversé

Hughes améliora l'efficacité de la milice d'avant-guerre et, après 1914, dirigea l'effort de guerre du Canada avec une énergie et un dynamisme considérables. Politicien habile et charismatique, il fut élu pour la première fois en 1892 et entra au Cabinet en tant que ministre de la Défense du Premier ministre Borden en 1911. Il fut anobli en 1915.

Malgré ses talents de politicien, Hughes était un piètre organisateur, enclin au favoritisme et au capitalisme de coterie lorsqu'il accordait des promotions militaires ou des contrats pour la fabrication de munitions. Beaucoup des projets concernant l'équipement qui lui tenaient à cœur furent d'embarrassants échecs. Hughes avait milité pour l'achat du fusil Ross de fabrication canadienne qui équipait les troupes canadiennes au début de la guerre, et il s'attira de sévères critiques lorsqu'il le défendit malgré des preuves de plus en plus nombreuses des défauts qu'il présentait dans les combats. Hughes s'opposa vigoureusement aux officiers qui tentaient de remplacer le Ross en les accusant d'incompétence et de malveillance politique.

Congédié par le Premier ministre

En 1916 Hughes était devenu un boulet de plus en plus lourd au niveau politique pour le gouvernement. Il était détesté au Québec pour ses opinions antifrancophones et anticatholiques, et suscitait la méfiance de ses collègues du Cabinet à cause de ses insuffisances au point de vue financier et administratif. Ses efforts pour établir et contrôler une structure de commandement militaire canadien outre-mer avaient provoqué un véritable chaos incitant le Premier ministre à créer à l'automne un ministère de l'outre-mer relevant directement du Cabinet. Hughes s'opposa à cette décision. En novembre, Borden accepta la démission de ce ministre malheureux et de plus en plus gênant qui demeura simple député jusqu'à sa mort en 1921.

Poursuivez votre exploration avec ces sujets : Le Corps expéditionnaire canadien, Entraînement à Valcartier, Fusils