Canada and the First World War

The Somme

The four-month Battle of the Somme was fought from 1 July to 18 November 1916. Allied commanders sought to relieve pressure on the French defenders of Verdun to the south by inflicting heavy losses on German forces farther north and drawing German reserves into the battle.

German Defences Unscathed by Artillery Barrages

The joint Allied offensive planned for French forces to play a prominent role, but heavy casualties at Verdun reduced their ability to participate. As a result, British and other imperial forces, under the command of Sir Douglas Haig, assumed responsibility for most of the front.

The German defenders along the Somme had constructed deep dugouts that were difficult to find, much less to destroy with artillery fire. Many of the hundreds of thousands of British shells fired before the attack were inoperative "duds" due to quality control problems in their manufacture. Others lacked fuses sensitive enough to explode on contact with barbed wire, which further reduced the bombardment's effectiveness. Because of this, many German machine-gun positions and dugouts remained largely unscathed, and deep rows of barbed wire uncleared.

A Disastrous First Day, A Catastrophic Battle

British troops went "over the top" on 1 July 1916 expecting, after the fury of their own barrage, an easy walk onto the German lines. They were met instead by terrible fire from rifles, artillery, and machine-guns seemingly unhurt by the bombardment. The first day of the Somme battle was a disaster, with nearly 60,000 casualties.

No Canadian infantry units participated in this attack but, at Beaumont Hamel, the 1st Newfoundland Regiment, attached to a British division, was cut down on 1 July by German machine-gun fire as it attacked over open ground. Within 30 minutes, the regiment suffered a crippling 324 killed and 386 wounded out of a total of 801 soldiers.

The First Day of the Somme

The first day of the Somme was a catastrophe for the British Army and a shock for all the Allies. Despite the limited Allied gains, German forces had also suffered horribly. The British pressed the attack for months, well into the fall. By the time the battled ended, each side had suffered more than 600,000 casualties.

The Somme as Historical Controversy

The Somme was one of the war's longest attritional campaigns, and remains a source of great historical controversy. Critics suggest that ineffective and callous British generals ordered their soldiers forward in fruitless and costly attacks, giving them neither proper weapons nor effective tactics to breakthrough the enemy trenches. Other historians further suggest that little more could have been done at this stage in the war to achieve victory, and that the attrition of German troops along the Somme eased enough pressure from the French at Verdun to ensure the Allied front did not collapse in 1916. French demands for help, they argue, forced the British to attack before they were ready. Without enough heavy artillery or shells to suppress enemy fire, the British suffered staggering casualties.

The Somme was a costly stalemate that led to harsh criticism of Allied commanders, especially Haig, and German determination to avoid similar casualties be altering their defensive systems. In the fighting of 1917, improved Allied assault tactics would face deeper, more sophisticated German defences.

Le Canada et la Première Guerre mondiale

La Somme

La bataille de la Somme a duré plus de quatre mois, du 1er juillet au 18 novembre 1916. Les commandants alliés cherchèrent à soulager la pression sur les défenseurs français de Verdun, au sud, en infligeant de lourdes pertes aux forces allemandes plus au nord et en attirant des réserves allemandes dans la bataille.

Les défenses allemandes résistent aux barrages d'artillerie

Il était prévu que les forces françaises jouent un rôle de premier plan dans l'offensive alliée conjointe, mais les lourdes pertes subies à Verdun réduisirent leur capacité de participer. Des forces britanniques et d'autres forces impériales, sous le commandement de sir Douglas Haig, assumèrent donc la responsabilité de la plus grande partie du front.

Les défenseurs allemands le long de la Somme avaient construit des abris profonds qui étaient difficiles à trouver, sans parler de les détruire avec des tirs d'artillerie. Un bon nombre des centaines de milliers d'obus britanniques tirés avant l'attaque n'explosèrent pas en raison de problèmes de contrôle de la qualité en cours de fabrication. Pour d'autres, les détonateurs n'étaient pas assez sensibles pour exploser au contact des fils de fer barbelés, ce qui réduisait encore l'efficacité des bombardements. De nombreux abris et positions de mitrailleuses allemands ne subirent ainsi pratiquement aucun dommage, et de profondes rangées de barbelés subsistaient.

Une désastreuse première journée, une bataille catastrophique

Les troupes britanniques se lancèrent à l'assaut le 1er juillet 1916, s'attendant, après la violence de leur propre barrage, à une simple promenade sur les lignes allemandes. Elles furent au contraire accueillies par des tirs terribles de fusils, d'artillerie et de mitrailleuses qui de toute évidence n'avaient pas souffert des bombardements. Le premier jour de la bataille de la Somme fut un désastre, avec près de 60 000 pertes.

Aucune unité d'infanterie canadienne ne participa à cette attaque, mais, à Beaumont-Hamel, le 1st Newfoundland Regiment, attaché à une division britannique, fut décimé le 1er juillet par un tir de mitrailleuses alors qu'il attaquait en terrain découvert. En 30 minutes, sur les 801 soldats du régiment, 324 furent tués et 386 blessés.

La première journée de la bataille de la Somme

La première journée de la bataille de la Somme fut catastrophique pour l'Armée britannique et un choc pour tous les Alliés. Malgré les gains limités des Alliés, les forces allemandes avaient aussi horriblement souffert. Les Britanniques poursuivirent les attaques pendant des mois, jusqu'en automne. Quand la bataille prit fin, chaque camp avait subi plus de 600 000 pertes.

La bataille de la Somme, une controverse historique

La bataille de la Somme fut une des campagnes d'usure les plus longues de la guerre, et demeure une des grandes controverses historiques. Des critiques avancent que des généraux britanniques inefficaces et sans pitié imposèrent à leurs soldats des attaques infructueuses et coûteuses, ne leur fournissant ni armes adéquates ni tactiques efficaces pour percer les tranchées ennemies. D'autres historiens laissent en outre entendre qu'on ne pouvait guère faire autre chose à ce stade de la guerre pour obtenir la victoire, et que l'usure des troupes allemandes le long de la Somme allégea suffisamment la pression sur les Français à Verdun pour éviter que le front occidental allié ne s'effondre en 1916. Les demandes d'aide de la part des Français, soutiennent-ils, forcèrent les Britanniques à attaquer avant d'être prêts. Sans l'artillerie lourde ou les obus nécessaires pour supprimer les tirs ennemis, les Britanniques subirent des pertes énormes.

La bataille de la Somme fut une impasse coûteuse qui fit critiquer durement les commandants alliés, particulièrement Haig, et rendit les Allemands déterminés à éviter des pertes semblables en modifiant leurs systèmes défensifs. Au cours des combats de 1917, les Alliés, malgré leurs techniques d'assaut améliorées, allaient faire face à des défenses allemandes plus profondes et plus sophistiquées.

Poursuivez votre exploration avec ces sujets : Mémorial terre-neuvien à Beaumont-Hamel, Les Terre-Neuviens, et Discipline et peines