Canada and the First World War

Trench Weapons

The static battlefield on the Western Front led to the development of new and more effective weapons, and the improvement of old ones.

The Trench Deadlock

The enormous firepower of machine-guns, quick-firing artillery, and modern rifles forced the infantry to dig into the ground. The first shallow, temporary ditches gradually expanded into deeper trench systems. Most attacks against these trenches ended in failure. New weapons were introduced throughout the war to help break the deadlock.

Personal Weapons and Small-arms

At the start of the war, most soldiers carried only a rifle and a bayonet, and most soldiers within the same small unit were similarly armed. As the war progressed, armies used a wider variety of weapons to better equip their troops for trench fighting and attacks across No Man's Land, including grenades, rifle grenades, mortars, and several types of machine-guns.

Small units, of eight to 30 soldiers, came to rely on a balance of rifles, machine-guns, and other weapons. Training for raids and attacks emphasized how firepower, movement, and innovation could be used to go through, or around, enemy strong points.

Raiding with Knives and Clubs

Unofficial weapons, including knives, hand-made clubs, and small catapults were particularly useful in raids. From late 1915, the Canadians engaged in a series of hit-and-run assaults on enemy trenches. These raids were meant to kill the enemy, to gather intelligence, and to win control of No Man's Land. The Canadians soon acquired a reputation as fierce raiders, despite the heavy casualties they often incurred.

Innovation Outside the Trenches

In addition to the development of better and more varied weapons and tools for the infantry and engineers, the war also saw the use of poison gas, underground mining, airplanes, airships, submarines, and tanks. Many of the war's most fearsome inventions, including poison gas and tanks, were intended specifically to aid armies on the attack and by 1917-1918, were being used effectively to break into and out of enemy trench lines.

Keep exploring with these topics: Tommy Canuck: the Infantry Soldier, Trench Routine, and Trench Raids

Le Canada et la Première Guerre mondiale

Armes des tranchées

Le caractère statique des champs de bataille du front occidental amena la mise au point d'armes nouvelles plus efficaces et l'amélioration des anciennes.

L'impasse des tranchées

La fabuleuse puissance de feu des mitrailleuses, de l'artillerie à tir rapide et des fusils modernes força l'infanterie à se creuser des abris dans le sol. Les premiers fossés temporaires, peu profonds, s'agrandirent progressivement pour devenir des réseaux de tranchées profondes. La plupart des attaques contre ces tranchées échouaient. De nouvelles armes furent introduites tout au long de la guerre pour aider à briser l'impasse.

Armes personnelles et petites armes

Au début de la guerre, la plupart des soldats ne portaient qu'un fusil et une baïonnette, et la plupart des soldats de la même petite unité étaient armés de la même façon. À mesure que la guerre progressait, les armées se servirent d'armes plus diverses pour mieux équiper leurs troupes en vue des combats des tranchées et des attaques à travers le no man's land, dont des grenades, des grenades à fusil, des mortiers et plusieurs types de mitrailleuses.

Les petites unités, de huit à 30 soldats, en vinrent à utiliser des fusils, des mitrailleuses et d'autres armes. L'entraînement pour les raids et les attaques montrait comment se servir de la puissance de feu et du mouvement, et à faire preuve d'ingéniosité pour franchir ou contourner les centres de résistance ennemis.

Raids avec des couteaux et des gourdins

Les armes non officielles - couteaux, gourdins faites à la main et petites catapultes - étaient particulièrement utiles lors des raids ou incursions. À partir de la fin de 1915, les Canadiens effectuèrent une série d'assauts (tir et esquive) contre des tranchées ennemies. On menait ces raids pour tuer l'ennemi, obtenir des renseignements et se rendre maître du no man's land. Les Canadiens se méritèrent rapidement une réputation de combattants acharnés, en dépit des lourdes pertes qu'ils subissaient souvent.

Innovation hors des tranchées

Des armes et des outils meilleurs et plus divers furent mis au point pour l'infanterie et les ingénieurs, mais la guerre connut aussi l'utilisation de gaz toxiques, de mines souterraines, d'avions, de dirigeables, de sous-marins et de chars. Beaucoup des inventions les plus redoutables de la guerre, dont les gaz toxiques et les chars d'assaut, étaient conçues spécialement pour aider les armées lors des attaques et, en 1917-1918, on s'en servait efficacement pour s'introduire dans les lignes de tranchées ennemies ou s'en échapper.

Poursuivez votre exploration avec ces sujets : Tommy Canuck : le fantassin, Routine quotidienne, et Raids contre les tranchées