Canada and the First World War

The Unknown Soldier

Canada repatriated the remains of an Unknown Soldier from France in May 2000 and laid them to rest at the National War Memorial in Ottawa. The idea originated as a millennium project of the Royal Canadian Legion and was coordinated through the government by Veterans Affairs Canada.

What the Unknown Soldier Represents

The Unknown Soldier was originally intended to represent all war dead whose remains had not been identified, a common problem along static First World War battlefields frequently churned by artillery and subsumed in mud. Since 1920, a single Unknown Soldier in London's Westminster Abbey had represented the unidentified war dead of Canada and other Commonwealth states. The original ceremony, presided over by King George V, had included many of the British Empire's Victoria Cross winners, and a group of 100 women, each of whom had lost their husband and all their sons during the war. France and the United States followed Great Britain's example in 1921, as did numerous other countries in subsequent years. These tombs and memorials gradually assumed broader significance, becoming sites of memory and mourning for all war dead, and for civil ceremonies of broadly based remembrance instead of simple military commemoration.

Canada's Unknown Soldier

In 1993, Australia marked the 75th anniversary of the end of the First World War by repatriating from France the remains of its own Unknown Soldier, the first Commonwealth country to have done so since 1920. He was buried in the Australian War Memorial's Hall of Memory in Canberra.

Canada followed the Australian example in 2000 at the suggestion of the Royal Canadian Legion and other groups. A single set of remains was selected from among Canada's 6,846 unknown soldiers of the First World War for return to Canada and re-interment at the National War Memorial in Ottawa. The Unknown Soldier ultimately came from a cemetery near Vimy Ridge and was flown home to lie in state in the Hall of Honour in the Centre Block of Parliament from 25 May to 28 May 2000, where tens of thousands filed past to pay their respects.

The Unknown Soldier was buried on the afternoon of 28 May 2000 in a nationally televised ceremony. The site has become an important focus of commemoration, especially in the national Remembrance Day service held at the National War Memorial on 11 November.

Keep exploring with these topics: Memorials in Canada, Passchendaele, and Remembrance Day

Le Canada et la Première Guerre mondiale

Le soldat inconnu

Le Canada rapatria de France les restes d'un soldat inconnu en mai 2000 et les inhuma au Monument commémoratif de guerre, à Ottawa. Cette idée était à l'origine un projet du millénaire de la Légion royale canadienne. Le projet fut coordonné par Anciens Combattants Canada.

Ce que représente le soldat inconnu

Le soldat inconnu devait au départ représenter tous les morts de la guerre dont les restes n'avaient pas été identifiés, problème courant le long des champs de bataille statiques de la Première Guerre mondiale fréquemment labourés par l'artillerie et noyés sous la boue. Depuis 1920, un unique soldat inconnu dans l'abbaye de Westminster (Londres) devait représenter les morts de la guerre non identifiés du Canada et d'autres pays du Commonwealth. À la première cérémonie, présidée par le roi George V, nombre des récipiendaires de la Croix de Victoria de l'Empire britannique ainsi qu'un groupe de 100 femmes ayant chacune perdu leur mari et tous leurs fils pendant la guerre avaient été présents. La France et les États-Unis suivirent l'exemple de la Grande-Bretagne au cours des années suivantes. Ces tombes et monuments commémoratifs en vinrent à acquérir une signification plus large, devenant des lieux du souvenir et de deuil à la mémoire de tous les morts de la guerre, ainsi que pour des cérémonies civiles consacrées au souvenir et non simplement à la commémoration militaire.

Le soldat inconnu du Canada

En 1993, l'Australie célébra le 75e anniversaire de la fin de la Première Guerre mondiale par le rapatriement de France des restes de son propre soldat inconnu, devenant le premier pays du Commonwealth à le faire depuis 1920. Il fut inhumé dans l'Australian War Memorial's Hall of Memory, à Canberra.

Le Canada suivit l'exemple de l'Australie en 2000 sur le conseil de la Légion royale canadienne et d'autres groupes. Les restes d'un seul soldat furent choisis parmi les 6846 soldats canadiens anonymes de la Première Guerre mondiale, pour être rapatriés au Canada et inhumés à nouveau au Monument commémoratif de guerre d'Ottawa. Le soldat inconnu venait d'un cimetière des environs de la crête de Vimy et ses restes voyagèrent en avion avant d'être exposés en chapelle ardente dans le Hall d'honneur de l'édifice du Centre du Parlement, du 25 au 28 mai 2000, où des dizaines de milliers de personnes vinrent lui rendre un dernier hommage.

Le soldat inconnu fut inhumé dans l'après-midi du 28 mai 2000 au cours d'une cérémonie télévisée. Cet endroit devint un lieu important de commémoration, particulièrement le 11 novembre lors du service pour le jour du Souvenir au Monument commémoratif

Poursuivez votre exploration avec ces sujets : Les monuments commémoratifs du Canada, Passchendaele, et Le jour du Souvenir