Canada and the First World War

Vimy Ridge

The victory at Vimy was a defining event for Canada, considered by many contemporaries and later scholars to be a significant event in Canada's progress to full independence from Britain.

The Strategic Importance of Vimy Ridge

The seven-kilometre long Vimy Ridge in northern France, near Arras, held a commanding view over the surrounding countryside. Previous unsuccessful French and British attacks had suffered over 150,000 casualties.

In early 1917, British High Command ordered the Canadian Corps to capture the position as part of a larger spring offensive in the Arras area. In the coming campaign, British forces to the south would have limited success, and the French would fail badly, with many of their units reduced to mutiny. The Canadian attack against Vimy Ridge would be spectacular by comparison.

A Planned Battle

Lieutenant-General Sir Julian Byng, the Canadian Corps commander, ordered new tactics for the coming assault. Having learned from the Battle of the Somme, intense training better prepared soldiers for what they might find on the battlefield, and helped them to make quick decisions on their own that were still in keeping with the overall plan. Small units and individual soldiers were given much more information about the battle, and were expected to exercise initiative in keeping the advance moving, even if their officers were killed or wounded.

A tremendous artillery barrage, which included improved techniques for counter-battery fire against enemy guns, would smash German positions and isolate enemy troops in their dugouts.

At 5:30 a.m. on 9 April 1917, Easter Monday, nearly 1,000 guns opened fire on the German positions. An estimated 15,000 Canadians rose from the trenches and advanced towards the ridge in the first wave, with thousands more behind them. Despite hard fighting all across the front, the Canadians captured most of the ridge on the 9th, and the remaining portions of it by the 12th.

Vimy Ridge as Symbol

Over four days of bloody fighting, the Canadians had overrun Vimy Ridge at the cost of more than 10,600 killed and wounded.

The battle has since become an important symbol for Canada, the place where Canadians from across the country delivered an unprecedented victory, all four divisions of the Canadian Corps fighting together for the first time in the war.

Keep exploring with these topics: Sir Julian Byng, Vimy Memorial, and The Canadian Expeditionary Force

Le Canada et la Première Guerre mondiale

Crête de Vimy

La victoire de Vimy fut un événement fondateur pour le Canada. Nombre de contemporains et d'universitaires ultérieurs y ont vu un événement important dans l'évolution du Canada vers l'indépendance complète par rapport à la Grande-Bretagne.

L'importance stratégique de la crête de Vimy

La crête de Vimy, dans le nord de la France, près d'Arras, qui faisait sept kilomètres, dominait la campagne environnante. Au cours d'attaques précédentes, Français et Britanniques avaient subi plus de 150 000 pertes.

Au début de 1917, le haut commandement britannique ordonna au Corps canadien de s'emparer de cette position dans le cadre d'une offensive de printemps plus générale dans la région d'Arras. Dans la campagne à venir, les forces britanniques, au sud, ne remporteraient que des succès limités, et les Français échoueraient complètement, nombre de leurs unités en étant réduites à se mutiner. L'attaque canadienne contre la crête de Vimy serait spectaculaire en comparaison.

Une bataille planifiée

Le lieutenant-général sir Julian Byng, le commandant du Corps canadien, ordonna de nouvelles tactiques pour l'assaut qui se préparait. Les leçons de la bataille de la Somme ayant été tirées, un entraînement intensif prépara mieux les soldats à ce qu'ils pouvaient trouver sur le champ de bataille et les aida à prendre eux-mêmes des décisions rapides qui soient conformes au plan général. On donnait aux petites unités et aux soldats beaucoup plus d'information sur la bataille, et on s'attendait à ce qu'ils prennent des initiatives pour continuer de progresser, même si leurs officiers étaient tués ou blessés.

Un terrible barrage d'artillerie, avec des techniques améliorées de tir de contrebatterie contre des canons ennemis, allait détruire les positions allemandes et isoler les troupes ennemies dans leurs abris.

À 5 h 30, le 9 avril 1917, le lundi de Pâques, près de 1000 fusils ouvrirent le feu sur les positions allemandes. On estime que 15 000 Canadiens sortirent des tranchées et s'avancèrent vers la crête en une première vague, des milliers d'autres les suivant. En dépit des durs combats tout le long du front, les Canadiens s'emparèrent de la plus grande partie de la crête ce jour-là, le reste étant entre leurs mains le 12 avril.

La crête de Vimy, un symbole

Après quatre jours de combats sanglants, les Canadiens s'étaient rendus maîtres de la crête de Vimy au prix de plus de 10 600 tués et blessés.

La bataille est depuis devenue un symbole important pour le Canada, l'endroit où des Canadiens de tout le pays obtinrent une victoire sans précédent, les quatre divisions du Corps canadien se battant ensemble pour la première fois depuis le début de la guerre.

Poursuivez votre exploration avec ces sujets : Sir Julian Byng, Mémorial de Vimy, et Le Corps expéditionnaire canadien