Canada and the First World War

Commonwealth War Graves Commission

The British government established the Imperial War Graves Commission in 1917 to care for the overseas graves of the Empire's war dead. The new organization developed out of the British Army's Graves Registration Commission, established in 1915, and in 1960 was renamed the Commonwealth War Graves Commission (CWGC).

Burying the Fallen

The British Empire chose to bury its battlefield dead from the First World War near the sites where they had fallen, and not to repatriate remains to their home countries, as many grieving families and politicians had demanded. While thousands of bodies had been buried in makeshift graves during the fighting, military units, assisted first by the Red Cross and later by official grave registrars, had made efforts to note temporary sites for future reburials. After battles, special grave detachments attempted to collect the unburied dead for proper burial, and to disinter remains from temporary graves for proper reburial elsewhere. After the Armistice, this process began in earnest with the vastly expanded Imperial War Graves Commission moving remains into newly established imperial military cemeteries. The process involved tens of thousands of burials and took many years. It still continues on a smaller scale as agricultural or construction work across old battlefields regularly uncovers additional human remains.

The War Graves Commission

The Commission imposed a sense of social equality in its cemeteries and made no rank distinctions in the physical construction of grave markers. Each simple white headstone carries the name, rank, and unit symbol of the deceased, and a religious symbol if the soldier's religion was known. The unknown dead carry an inscription chosen by British author Rudyard Kipling, who lost a son during the war: "A Soldier of the Great War - Known Unto God." No other personalized adornments were allowed other than the opportunity for next of kin to pay for a short motto to appear at the bottom of headstone.

Today, the CWGC cares for the graves of 1.7 million members of Commonwealth forces who died in the two world wars and in subsequent conflicts around the globe. It maintains 2,500 cemeteries in over 170 countries. The Commission consists of six member countries - the United Kingdom, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, India, and South Africa. Member states jointly fund the Commission's operations, but the United Kingdom pays more than 75 per cent of the costs.

Keep exploring with these topics: Europe Before the War, Canada at War, and The War's Impact on Canada

Le Canada et la Première Guerre mondiale

La Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth

Le gouvernement britannique établit l'Imperial War Graves Commission en 1917 pour s'occuper des sépultures des soldats de l'Empire morts outre-mer. Cette nouvelle organisation issue de la Graves Registration Commission de l'Empire britannique, créée en 1915, fut renommée en 1960 Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth (CSGC).

Inhumer les morts

L'Empire britannique choisit d'enterrer ses morts sur les champs de bataille de la Première Guerre mondiale près des lieux où ils étaient tombés, et de ne pas les rapatrier dans leur pays d'origine comme l'avaient réclamé de nombreux politiciens et familles en deuil. Alors que des milliers de corps avaient été enterrés dans des tombes de fortune pendant les combats, les unités militaires, d'abord secondées par la Croix-Rouge et plus tard par des préposés officiels à l'enregistrement des sépultures, s'étaient efforcées de noter l'emplacement des tombes temporaires pour les réinhumations futures. Après les combats, des détachements spéciaux affectés aux sépultures s'efforçaient de récupérer les morts laissés sans sépulture pour les inhumer décemment et d'exhumer les restes des sépultures temporaires pour les réinhumer convenablement ailleurs. Après l'Armistice, l'Imperial War Graves Commission, qui avait beaucoup grandi, s'acquitta de cette tâche avec soin, transportant les restes dans des cimetières militaires nouvellement établis. Le processus concernait des dizaines de milliers de sépultures et exigea de longues années. Il se poursuit toujours, à une échelle plus réduite, alors que les travaux d'agriculture ou de construction sur les sites des anciens champs de bataille amènent régulièrement l'exhumation d'autres restes humains.

La Commission des sépultures de guerre

La Commission imposa l'égalité sociale dans ses cimetières et le grade militaire ne fut aucunement pris en compte dans la conception des stèles funéraires. Chacune des stèles, blanche et de forme simple, comporte le nom, le rang et le symbole de l'unité du défunt ainsi qu'un symbole religieux si on connaissait la religion du soldat. Les sépultures des morts anonymes reçurent une inscription choisie par l'auteur britannique Rudyard Kipling, qui avait perdu un fils pendant la guerre : « A Soldier of the Great War - Known Unto God. » (Un soldat de la Grande guerre - Connu de Dieu seul.) Aucun ajout personnalisant la stèle ne fut permis autre que la possibilité pour le parent le plus proche d'y inscrire au bas une courte phrase.

Aujourd'hui, la CSGC s'occupe des sépultures de 1,7 million de membres des forces du Commonwealth dans 2500 cimetières dans plus de 170 pays. La Commission est constituée de six pays membres : le Royaume-Uni, le Canada, l'Australie, la Nouvelle-Zélande, l'Inde et l'Afrique du Sud. Les États membres financent conjointement les activités de la Commission, mais le Royaume-Uni paye plus de 75 pour cent des coûts.