Canada and the First World War

The War's Impact on Canada

Canada emerged from the First World War a proud, victorious nation with newfound standing in the world. It also emerged grieving and divided, forever changed by the war's unprecedented exertions and horrific costs.

A Country Fundamentally Changed

The war united most Canadians in a common cause even as the extremity of national effort nearly tore the country apart. Few had expected the long struggle or heavy death toll. A war fought supposedly for liberal freedoms against Prussian militarism had exposed uneasy contradictions, including compulsory military service, broken promises to farmers and organized labour, high inflation, deep social and linguistic divisions, and the suspension of many civil liberties. Some women had received the right to vote, but other Canadians - recent immigrants associated with enemy countries - had seen this right rescinded.

Government had intervened in the lives of Canadians to an unprecedented degree, introducing policies that would eventually mature into a fully fledged system of social welfare. But it had not prevented wartime profiteering, strikes, or economic disasters, leading many to question the extent to which rich Canadians had sacrificed at all. A massive and unprecedented voluntary effort had supported the troops overseas and loaned Ottawa the money it needed to fight the war. The resulting post-war debt of some $2 billion was owed mostly to other Canadians, a fact which fundamentally altered the nature of the post-war economy.

Politically, the war was also a watershed. Borden's efforts to win the 1917 election and carry the nation to victory succeeded in the short term, but fractured the country along regional, cultural, linguistic, and class lines. English and French relations were never lower, and accusations of French traitors and English militarists were not soon forgotten. Quebec would be a wasteland for federal Conservative politicians for most of the next 40 years. Laurier's forlorn stand against conscription lost him the election and divided his party, but helped ensure the Liberals' national credibility, with a firm basis in French Canada, for decades to come.

Labour, newly empowered by its important role in supporting the war effort, pushed for more rights, first through negotiations, and then through strikes. Farmers seethed over agricultural policies and Ottawa's broken promise on conscription. In the post-war period, both groups would form powerful new political and regional parties.

Autonomy and Foreign Policy

The war accelerated the transformation of the British Empire into the British Commonwealth and demonstrated Great Britain's military and economic reliance on the self-governing dominions. Most of the principal Commonwealth heads of government recognized this, and saw clearly in their wartime contributions the route to greater independence and standing within imperial counsels.

Prime Minister Sir Robert Borden orchestrated a massive national effort in support of the mother country, but also demanded that Great Britain recognize Canada's wartime sacrifices with greater post-war autonomy. Canada signed independently the Treaty of Versailles (1919) that formally ended the war, and assumed a cautious, non-committal role in the newly established League of Nations. London's wartime agreement to re-evaluate the constitutional arrangements between Great Britain and its dominions culminated in the Statute of Westminster (1931), which formalized the dominions' full control over their own foreign policy. Canada's determination to do so regardless had already been made evident during the 1922 Chanak Crisis, when Ottawa insisted on a Parliamentary debate before considering possible support to Great Britain in a military confrontation with Turkey.

Unprecedented Status

Despite the social and political challenges of the post-war, most Canadians also emerged from the struggle believing they had done important and difficult things together. Their primary fighting force at the front, the Canadian Corps, had achieved a first-class reputation as one of the most effective formations on the Western Front. Their generals and politicians had played an obvious role in victory, and the country itself enjoyed an international standing that few observers in 1914 could have predicted.

Keep exploring with these topics: Sir Robert Borden, Canada at War, and Vimy Ridge

Le Canada et la Première Guerre mondiale

L'incidence de la guerre sur le Canada

Le Canada, après la Première Guerre mondiale, était devenu un pays fier et victorieux avec un tout nouveau statut dans le monde. Il se retrouvait également en deuil et divisé, transformé à jamais par les efforts sans précédent et les coûts horribles de la guerre.

Un pays fondamentalement transformé

La guerre unit la plupart des Canadiens dans une cause commune, même si l'effort national en vint presque à déchirer le pays. Rares étaient ceux qui s'étaient attendu à la durée du conflit ou au bilan en pertes humaines. Une guerre livrée soi-disant pour la liberté contre le militarisme prussien avait révélé des contradictions difficiles à surmonter, dont le service militaire obligatoire, les promesses non tenues aux agriculteurs et aux syndicats, le taux d'inflation élevé, les divisions sociales et linguistiques profondes et la suspension de beaucoup de libertés civiles. Certaines femmes s'étaient vu accorder le droit de vote, mais d'autres Canadiens - des immigrants récents associés à des pays ennemis - avaient perdu ce droit.

Le gouvernement était intervenu dans la vie des Canadiens à un degré sans précédent, introduisant des politiques qui aboutiraient à un véritable système de protection sociale. Mais il n'avait pas empêché la réalisation de profits excessifs pendant la guerre, les grèves ou les désastres économiques, ce qui conduisit un grand nombre de gens à douter que les Canadiens riches se soient si peu que ce soit sacrifiés. Une participation volontaire massive et sans précédent avait soutenu les troupes outre-mer et on avait prêté à Ottawa l'argent dont il avait besoin pour la guerre. La dette qui en avait résulté après-guerre - environ 2 milliards de dollars - avait surtout été contractée envers d'autres Canadiens, fait qui transforma radicalement la nature de l'économie d'après-guerre.

Politiquement, la guerre fut également un tournant important. Les efforts de Borden pour remporter les élections de 1917 et emmener la nation vers la victoire furent couronnés de succès à court terme, mais divisèrent le pays selon des critères régionaux, culturels, linguistiques et de classe. Les relations entre anglophones et francophones n'avaient jamais été aussi mauvaises, et les accusations de traîtrise contre les francophones et de militarisme contre les anglophones n'allaient pas être oubliées de sitôt. Le Québec serait un désert pour les conservateurs fédéraux pendant la plus grande partie des 40 années suivantes. La position désespérée de Laurier contre la conscription lui valut de perdre les élections et divisa son parti, mais contribua à établir la crédibilité nationale des libéraux, leur assurant une base solide au Canada français, pour les dizaines d'années à venir.

Les syndicats, auxquels leur rôle important dans le soutien à l'effort de guerre avait donné des ailes, réclamèrent davantage de droits, d'abord par des négociations, puis par des grèves. Les agriculteurs étaient furieux contre les politiques agricoles et la promesse non tenue d'Ottawa sur la conscription. Dans la période d'après-guerre, les deux groupes formeraient de nouveaux partis politiques et régionaux puissants.

Autonomie et politique étrangère

La guerre accéléra la transformation de l'Empire britannique, qui devint le Commonwealth, et démontra que la Grande-Bretagne avait besoin, tant militairement qu'économiquement, des dominions autonomes. La plupart des principaux chefs de gouvernement du Commonwealth reconnurent ce fait et virent clairement dans leurs contributions du temps de guerre la voie vers une plus grande indépendance et une plus grande importance dans les conseils impériaux.

Le premier ministre sir Robert Borden orchestra un effort national massif à l'appui de la mère patrie, mais exigea aussi que la Grande-Bretagne reconnaisse les sacrifices du Canada en temps de guerre en lui accordant une plus grande autonomie après le conflit. Le Canada signa de façon indépendante le Traité de Versailles (1919), qui mettait officiellement fin à la guerre, et joua un rôle prudent et discret au sein de la toute nouvelle Société des Nations. L'acceptation de Londres pendant la guerre de réévaluer les accords constitutionnels entre la Grande-Bretagne et ses dominions aboutit au Statut de Westminster (1931), qui établissait officiellement que les dominions avaient la maîtrise de leur politique étrangère. La détermination du Canada à le faire de toute manière avait été évidente lors de la crise de Chanak, en 1922, quand Ottawa insista pour qu'il y ait un débat parlementaire avant d'envisager un éventuel appui à la Grande-Bretagne dans une confrontation militaire avec la Turquie.

Statut sans précédent

En dépit des défis sociaux et politiques de l'après-guerre, la plupart des Canadiens croyaient, à l'issue du conflit, qu'ils avaient fait ensemble des choses importantes et difficiles. Leur principale force de combat au front, le Corps canadien, s'était mérité la réputation d'être une des formations les plus efficaces du front occidental. Leurs généraux et politiciens avaient joué un rôle évident dans la victoire, et le pays lui-même s'était valu un statut international que peu d'observateurs en 1914 auraient pu prévoir.

Poursuivez votre exploration avec ces sujets : Sir Robert Borden, Le Canada en guerre, et La crête de Vimy