Canada and the First World War

War Trophies

The Canadian Corps captured thousands of enemy machine-guns, artillery pieces, and other items during the war. These war trophies were tangible representations of victory and valuable personal souvenirs. Hundreds came back to Canada with the returning troops.

War Trophies

Canadian soldiers captured thousands of enemy guns, mortars, and machine-guns during the course of the war. Formations overrunning enemy positions often chalked their identifiers on enemy guns to mark their success. Official reports always noted proudly the number of prisoners and guns captured as tangible examples of victory. They were proof of military success or validations of pre-battle intelligence reports, and could also influence promotions, reputations, and the granting of honours and awards.

Trophies across Canada

At war's end, Sir Arthur Doughty, the Dominion Archivist, was named Controller of War Trophies and charged with gathering trophies and bringing them back to Canada. While many Canadian trophies were sent to the Imperial War Museum, thousands returned to Ottawa. In early 1920, the government's official collection consisted of 516 guns, 304 trench mortars, 3,500 light and heavy machine-guns, and 44 aircraft.

Initial plans for a national war museum to house this collection, the official war art, and other artifacts were delayed or ignored by successive governments. The collection remained with the Dominion Archives which was soon sending pieces of it across Canada in response to requests from communities, veterans groups, schools, and military units. Cities or military bases often displayed large war trophies in central parks or in or near prominent buildings, and sometimes included them with local memorials. Acquired in the burst of patriotic enthusiasm that marked the immediate post-war period, many gradually fell into disrepair. During the Second World War, hundreds were donated to scrap metal drives, incorporating former German weapons against the new Nazi enemy.

A Canadian War Museum

The Public Archives collection was slowly transferred to the Canadian War Museum, which reopened in 1942, decades after it had closed in the late nineteenth century. Most of the Museum's current collection of First World War enemy guns, mortars, machine-guns, and small-arms comes from the official war trophy program. Smaller collections also survive in military and civil museums across Canada, and on official memorials or in civic buildings.

Keep exploring with these topics: Trench Art, Amiens, and Memorials in Canada

Le Canada et la Première Guerre mondiale

Trophées de guerre

Le Corps canadien s'empara de milliers de mitrailleuses, pièces d'artillerie et autres objets ennemis pendant la guerre. Ces trophées étaient des représentations tangibles de la victoire et de précieux souvenirs personnels. Les soldats de retour au Canada en rapportèrent des centaines.

Trophées de guerre

Les soldats canadiens s'emparèrent de milliers de canons, de mortiers et de mitrailleuses ennemis pendant la guerre. Les formations envahissant les positions ennemies s'identifiaient souvent à la craie sur les canons ennemis pour marquer leur succès. Les rapports officiels notaient avec fierté le nombre de prisonniers capturés et de canons saisis, autant d'exemples tangibles de la victoire. Ils étaient des preuves d'un succès militaire ou une confirmation des comptes rendus de renseignement d'avant la bataille, et ils pouvaient avoir une incidence sur les promotions, les réputations et l'attribution de mérites et de récompenses.

Trophées à travers le Canada

À la fin de la guerre, sir Arthur Doughty, l'archiviste fédéral, fut nommé contrôleur des trophées de guerre et chargé de récupérer des trophées et de les rapporter au Canada. De nombreux trophées canadiens furent envoyés à l'Imperial War Museum, mais des milliers le furent au Canada. Au début de 1920, la collection officielle de l'État était constituée de 516 canons, 304 mortiers de tranchée, 3500 mitrailleuses légères et lourdes et 44 avions.

Les projets initiaux de musée national de la guerre pour abriter cette collection ainsi que la collection d'art militaire officiel et d'autres artefacts furent retardés ou ignorés par les gouvernements successifs. La collection demeura dans les Archives fédérales, lesquelles en envoyèrent bientôt des pièces à travers le Canada en réponse à des demandes de collectivités, de groupes d'anciens combattants, d'écoles et d'unités militaires. Des villes et des bases militaires exposaient souvent de gros trophées de guerre dans des parcs facilement accessibles, ou dans des bâtiments importants ou à proximité, et les intégraient parfois à des monuments commémoratifs locaux. Acquis dans l'élan d'enthousiasme patriotique des premières années de l'après-guerre, beaucoup se délabrèrent. Au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, des centaines furent donnés à la ferraille à l'occasion de campagnes pour faire servir d'anciennes armes allemandes contre le nouvel ennemi nazi.

Un Musée canadien de la guerre

La collection des Archives publiques fut lentement transférée au Musée canadien de la guerre, lequel rouvrit ses portes en 1942, des dizaines d'années après sa fermeture à la fin du XIXe siècle. Le gros de l'actuelle collection du Musée de canons, mortiers, mitrailleuses et petites armes ennemis de la Première Guerre mondiale provient du programme officiel de trophées de guerre. De plus petites collections existent aussi dans des musées civils et militaires de tout le Canada, et sur des monuments commémoratifs officiels ou dans des bâtiments municipaux.

Poursuivez votre exploration avec ces sujets : L'art des tranchées, Amiens, et Monuments commémoratifs au Canada