Canada and the First World War

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir Wilfrid Laurier, Canada's first French-Canadian prime minister (1896-1911), was leader of the opposition during the First World War.

A Legendary Figure

Laurier was a committed nation builder and an adroit politician known for his effectiveness as a facilitator and agent of compromise. His 15 years as prime minister included the successful handling of serious disputes over language education, foreign policy, and railways, the creation of the provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan, and the addition of some two million people, mainly immigrants, to Canada's population. Following his defeat in the 1911 election by Robert Borden's Conservatives, Laurier continued as leader of the opposition, a position he would hold until his death in 1919.

Opposed to Conscription

Laurier strongly supported the war effort, but not the introduction of conscription or other key government policies. He rejected overtures from Borden of a wartime coalition and was lionized in much of French Canada for his principled opposition to compulsory service in the 1917 election. Many Liberals abandoned him to join Borden's new Union government. Others shared his opposition to the government's wartime agenda, but - like Le Devoir publisher Henri Bourassa - proposed greater national autonomy for Canada within the Empire than Laurier was prepared to accept.

Laurier was the dominant political personality of his era, and is remembered for his contributions to Canadian economic and social development in the early twentieth century. He died in February 1919.

Keep exploring with these topics: Conscription, 1917, Canada at War, and Henri Bourassa

Le Canada et la Première Guerre mondiale

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir Wilfrid Laurier, premier Premier ministre francophone du Canada (1896-1911), fut chef de l'opposition pendant la Première Guerre mondiale.

Une figure légendaire

Laurier était un ardent bâtisseur de nation et un politicien adroit reconnu pour son efficacité comme modérateur et son ouverture aux compromis. Au cours des 15 années ou il fut premier ministre, il résolut de graves conflits sur la langue d'enseignement, la politique extérieure et les chemins de fer, il créa les provinces d'Alberta et de Saskatchewan et fit croître de près de 2 millions de personnes, pour la plupart des immigrants, la population du Canada. Après la défaite que lui infligèrent les conservateurs de Robert Borden à l'élection de 1911 Laurier devint chef de l'opposition, poste qu'il conserva jusqu'à sa mort en 1919.

Opposition à la conscription

Laurier appuyait totalement l'effort de guerre mais non l'introduction de la conscription ni certaines des autres politiques importantes du gouvernement. Il rejeta les ouvertures de Borden en faveur d'une coalition pour le temps de guerre et fut porté aux nues par une bonne partie du Canada français pour son opposition de principe au service militaire obligatoire lors de l'élection de 1917. De nombreux libéraux l'abandonnèrent pour rejoindre le nouveau gouvernement unioniste de Borden. D'autres partageaient son opposition au programme de temps de guerre du gouvernement, mais - tout comme le rédacteur en chef du journal Le Devoir, Henri Bourassa - souhaitaient pour le Canada une plus grande autonomie au sein de l'Empire que ce que Laurier était prêt à accepter.

Laurier fut la personnalité politique la plus éminente de son époque et on se souviendra de lui pour tout ce qu'il a fait pour le développement économique et social du Canada au début du XXe siècle. Il est décédé en février 1919.

Poursuivez votre exploration avec ces sujets : La conscription, 1917, Le Canada en guerre, et Henri Bourassa