"For us, the Salvation Army symbol has always stood for a little piece of Canada and a place of peace"
- Brigadier-General C.D. Thibeault
Commander, Canadian Forces Europe, 1992


In 1949, the Canadian military decided that it would be "wholly responsible for the control, supervision and distribution of welfare facilities abroad, afloat and within fixed service installations in Canada." Accordingly, the military organized its own small auxiliary and welfare units for service during the Korean War (1950-1953).

With the onset of the ‘Cold War’, the Salvation Army continued its role as a familiar friend to Canada’s military forces. This was not without initial opposition from some Canadian military officials who believed that if the SA was allowed to set up an official auxiliary service, other organizations would demand similar privileges at a time when there was no perceived need for their services.

In 1952, the first two Salvation Army officials, Captain and Mrs. A. Hopkinson, arrived in Germany to open a ‘Canadian’ hostel and snack bar for the thousands of Canadians stationed alongside British forces near Hanover with North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) forces.

In 1954, Canadian forces moved 250 kilometres southwest to Soest, and the Hopkinsons’ moved with them, opening up a Red Shield lounge on their own initiative. The overwhelming popularity of the lounge obliged skeptical Canadian military officials to sanction formally the Salvation Army’s presence.

Continued...






   Date created: December 8, 2000 | Last updated: October 7, 2009

«Pour nous, le symbole de l`Armée du Salut a toujours représenté un petit morceau du Canada et un lieu de paix.»
- Brigadier-Général C.D. Thibeault
commandant, Forces canadiennes Europe, 1992


En 1949, l’armée canadienne décida qu’elle serait «entièrement responsable du contrôle, de la supervision et de la distribution de tout ce qui touchait au bien-être des soldats outre-mer, en mer et dans les installations de service fixes au Canada.» Par conséquent, les militaires organisèrent leurs propres petites unités de bien-être auxiliaire pendant la guerre de Corée (1950 - 1953).

Avec le début de la «guerre froide», l’Armée du Salut continua de jouer son rôle d’ami familier auprès des forces militaires canadiennes. Cela n’alla pas sans l’ opposition initiale de certains hauts responsables de l’armée canadienne, qui étaient d’avis que si l’on permettait à l’AS de mettre sur pied un service auxiliaire officiel, d’autres organisations exigeraient des privilèges semblables à un moment où l’on ne ressentait pas le besoin de ce genre de service.

En 1952, les deux premiers responsables de l’Armée du Salut, le capitaine et Mme A. Hopkinson, arrivèrent en Allemagne pour ouvrir un refuge et un casse-croûte «canadien» pour les milliers de Canadiens en poste au côté des forces britanniques près de Hanovre, au sein des forces de l’Organisation du Traité de l’Atlantique Nord (OTAN).

En 1954, les forces canadiennes furent déplacées à 250 kilomètres au sud-ouest, à Soest, et les Hopkinson les suivirent, ouvrant de leur propre initiative une salle de détente. L’immense popularité de cette salle a forcé les responsables de militaires canadiens sceptiques à approuver officiellement la présence de l’Armée du Salut.

Continuer...


   Date de création: 8 Décembre 2000 | Mise à jour: 7 octobre 2009